TravelerReviews

The Romantic Rhine: Basel to Amsterdam - Northbound

review_img

David Hoopes

1 September 2018 Rhine River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

The entire trip was a delightful surprise. After an international business and government career involving nearly 20 years in Austria, Germany, the UK and parts of Asia, we were comfortably jaded travellers content to organize everything ourselves (flights, rental cars, opera tickets, dinner reservations) - such fun to leave everything to Tauck!

Most Memorable Moment:

Numerous - this was our first group trip and it was eye opening to discover how relaxing, how enjoyable and how superbly comfortable it could be. Obviously there are pluses and minuses but Tauck is clearly several cuts above the competition. We have booked two more as of yesterday.

review_img

CharlesHood

Great journey with great friends

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Overall a very well orchestrated trip. The MS Inspire is immaculate, and cabins are very well appointed and roomy. Food was varied and exceptional, and service aboard was equally superior. Weak points: Too much bus time, especially on a long evening trip to a castle. Too much emphasis on cathedrals. Decent but not superior tour direction.

Most Memorable Moment:

Canal boat ride in Amsterdam; beautiful flowers and canals of Strasbourg, France; spectacular view of the snow-capped Alps from the top of Mt. Pilatus; the lazy morning spent cruising through the Middle Rhine and viewing castle after castle from the Sky Deck; the truly spectacular bar and food service the entire week.

review_img

AYager

Romantic Rhine

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Wonderful trip! Loved it all! Local guides gave us a great knowledge of the areas. Castles along the Rhine were beautiful! Quite an experience going thru the locks! Basel and Amsterdam were just fabulous! So glad we stayed an extra day in Amsterdam! Friendly crew, delicious food! You won't be disappointed!

Most Memorable Moment:

Canal boat ride in Amsterdam and dinner at a castle!

review_img

Choc

Romantic Rhine

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

This was our first river cruise. Tauck provided us with a great introduction to the Rhine. Our ship, crew, food, and excursions were excellent. We would certainly do another.

Most Memorable Moment:

The cathedral at Strasbourg and our trip on the Cog Rail.

review_img

sandy wertz

Romantic Rhine

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

We had taken the Danube River Cruise year before last and it was absolutely perfect so we had very high expectations. Unfortunately, we were somewhat disappointed with the Rhine cruise. It was several days shorter, and consequentially we felt that we were too rushed. Also disappointed with the food. Would not recommend this particular cruise.

Most Memorable Moment:

The dinner at the castle although the bus ride to get there was very long.

review_img

John Hutton

Rhine Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

We have taken several other river cruises with other companies. The ships are all nice and the crews attentive but we thought the combination of many smaller touches really set Tauck apart. These include the excellent guides in each city who could add personal touches to their narratives, a special dinner in a palace, a wine tasting in a hospital,

Most Memorable Moment:

(continued) the talented bartender who knew our names and preferences after the first day, the coaches which followed us everywhere allowing a place for extra coats or umbrellas, the cabins which were excellent. Altogether an excellent trip.

review_img

LeeSchroeder

Fantastic

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

This was the first time we used Tauck but will not be the last. This company is excellent, from the moment we booked the vacation until the end of the trip Tauck took care of every aspect of the trip. The ship, the staff and the tours were the best we have ever been on. Thank you Tauck

Most Memorable Moment:

It’s hard to pick only one. I think when we first entered our suite and saw how incredible it was we knew we were in for a great trip.

review_img

RobertReynen

Cruisin" on the River

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

Our first River Cruise and it was everything and more we imagined. From Basel, Switzerland to Amsterdam each day was different with seeing unique venues, The wine country and vineyards so steep on the riverside hill banks we wondered how do the pick the grapes to beautiful old cities like Baden Baden and a great bike ride through Koblenz,

Most Memorable Moment:

Bike Ride through Koblenz and Baden Baden. Seeing relatives in Amsterdam we have never seen

review_img

LeoOdonnell

Perfect Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

The Rhine River Cruise was exceptional.....starting in Basel and staying at the beautiful Les Trois Rois...ending in Amsterdam and staying at the Hotel de l'Europe.....the Tauck ship was awesome and Michael, the Cruise Director, and all the personnel on the ship couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. They were available for us 24/7.

Most Memorable Moment:

The side trips were great -- Cologne and the magnificent cathedral were awesome....but, it is hard to pick the most memorable moment on the trip...there were so many.

review_img

Susan Jane Grosse

Rhine River

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

German food -- on ship as well as on shore -- this trip ws a feast for the body as well as for the brain. Loved seeing the castles. River cruising makes the shore s scenery up close and personal. Docking close in town made exploration easy. Don't miss this one -- and be sure to take it during Christmas market season also.

Most Memorable Moment:

German food on board the ship. (I had been to Germany several times before, so sights were great, but known.)

review_img

JGray

romantic rhine

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Boat was exceptional. Great service, friendly engaging staff. Food excellent as always. This was our 4th Tauck trip. In three others we have brought two or three other couples and were delighted to have our own table at all times. We encountered one logistical problem when visiting Cologne as docking and busses were late and tour guide cut short

Most Memorable Moment:

The entire trip was relaxing and enjoyable

review_img

JaneQuernheim

Top of the Line, Attention to Detail

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Tauck doesn't miss a single detail. They make arrangements for everything a passenger needs. The city tours took us to places that made us say "this is exactly what I wanted to see". Life on board the ship was relaxing, and the staff was professional and friendly. This trip was everything I wanted in a "Bucket List" vacation.

Most Memorable Moment:

I'm a foodie, and the chef on the MS Grace fulfilled all my expectations.I told her that the food on the ship was the highlight of my trip. Amazing, delicious meals. The few times we ate at restaurants off the ship were marginal compared to the meals we got on the MS Grace.

review_img

Tennis Gal

Tauck takes care of everything!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

From begining to end our cruise from Basel to Amsterdam on the Grace was impeccable. The boat is only a few years old, and is so well planned for comfort and functionality. The cabins have plenty of storage, a very comfortable bed with wonderfully fine sheets and a fluffy duvet. The food and drink did not stop and the service was so efficient.

Most Memorable Moment:

Don't miss Mt. Pilatus, near Lucerne. We had wonderful weather, so the view from the top was spectacular. I've never seen anything like it!

review_img

shurlbut

basel to amsterdam

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Had been on one other river cruise that was just so-so. The size of the MS Grace was perfect at 130; our rooms were spacious and very convenient. We loved the Tauck staff and the local guides were fun and informative. We will definitely travel with Tauck again.

review_img

vdevau

Awesome Romantic Rhine Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

This was our first trip to Europe and our first riverboat cruise. We took the cruise to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. The crew, captain, tour directors, cruise director, were all outstanding. It was the absolute best trip we have taken. Tauck has fantastic service, tours, meals, entertainment. They thought of everything.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to pick just one. Seeing the Astronomical clock was unbelievable. Hearing its history was amazing. Also enjoyed the chance to share the gondola up to Mt. Pilatus with two women who lived in the town and were going up the mountain to gather mushrooms. It was nice to talk with someone from the town.

review_img

LBull

The Romantic Rhine: Basel to Amsterdam - Northbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

We returned form this fantastic cruise yesterday and I wanted to get my comments registered while they are still fresh. It was a wonderful river cruise! And that includes the great attention to the smallest details by Tauck, starting with the planning and continuing through the actual cruise. Probably organization made the difference.

Most Memorable Moment:

All stops were great. Strasbourg, Koblenz and followed closely by the visit to Cologne. The guides were top notch. Another memorable element was the number of people that we met on the cruise and the opportunity to develop what may end up being long term connections with them. And finally the incredible staff! All of them!

review_img

WrigleyGirl

Great Tauck Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Wonderful ship and staff. Very attentive to your needs. Great local tour guides as well especially the one in Amsterdam. Highly recommend extending your river cruise by 1-2 days at beg and end of trip in Basel/Zurich and Amsterdam. Only negative was at each port of the cruise, you got on a motor coach. I would have preferred off the boat and just walk

Most Memorable Moment:

Lucerne and Mt Pilatus, Amsterdam and its beautiful canals

review_img

Dentrix

September will be our "Tauck Month"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

While Hurricane Irma ravaged the coast of Florida, we were at the Heineken Brewery tour about the time it made landfall, making it easier to not fret over what was happening at home. Special thanks to our fellow guests who offered their homes to us for our extended stay in ATL, while waiting for Delta to get us home.

Most Memorable Moment:

Since another couple had extra tickets, the tour of the Anne Frank house was very moving. I would give your cruise guests a heads up about the availability of the tickets, since it sells out fast. My wife particularly enjoyed the guide on the Rijks Museum tour, and she made Rembrandt and the Dutch Masters come to life!

review_img

jfarfalla15

Romantic Rhine

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

The crew was terrific! They couldn't do enough for us. Tauck is always very good about the little extra gifts they provide to us. The hotel Grand Trois Rois & The Pulitizer were wonderful - very centrally located. Although the castle might have been a great idea, the bus ride was long & didn't compare to the experience in Prague.

review_img

Sfunkatl

When Two Ends Meet

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

We loved the Romantic Rhine, but the time in Switzerland and Amsterdam were definitely the highlights. We arrived two days early and enjoyed Zürich and Bern before catching the river boat in Basel. The day trip to Lucerne and Mt. Pilatus was awesome too. We stayed two extra days in Amsterdam as well, and found it to be everything we had hoped for.

Most Memorable Moment:

Touring Lucerne, gondola ride up 7,000 ft high Mt. Pilatus, sleet and snow at the top, lunch in an awesome restaurant on the mountain, and cogwheel train ride down. Once in a lifetime experience.

review_img

Anne Mary Wilson

Disappointing

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

I was very disappointed in my Tauck, Romantic Rhine Riverboat Cruise. I was expecting so much more from Tauck and I'm wondering why I paid significantly more to do the trip with Tauck rather than simply and more cost effectively making a booking with Viking.

Most Memorable Moment:

Nothing was memorable. It was bland. This is my second Tauck trip - I'm booked on your Morocco trip in March 2018 but will most probably cancel. I'm extremely disappointed because I had envisioned Tauck as my main source of travel for the future. I would love a response to this note and perhaps you can persuade me to rethink my position.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Guest Relations Department and someone will be in contact with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Brian McGauley

TAUCK - Definitely worth the difference.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

Everything was great, especially MS Inspire - fewer passengers + more crew = better service not to mention the food quality On arrival in Basel, most tour companies include hotel transfers. Since we were travelling to Zurich for an early flight the next day, Tauck provided a car and driver for the four of us all the way to Zurich. THAT is Tauck!

Most Memorable Moment:

Upper deck buffet! Spotting the castles along the Rhine.

review_img

Wowottowow

OK but not worth a repeat

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

The ship was modern, clean and the room quite nice. The Cruise Director was super well organized. The Tour Directors were inconsistent, two good one poor. The food was acceptable and the wines better then the food. The food staff when out of their way when the dinner choices were not good. Too little fish. Too much meat/pork.TOO MANY BUS RIDES.

review_img

MarilynHendricks

Excellent vacation!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

The Rhine River Cruise included al the best elements for a wonderful vacation - education - relaxation and fun times!

Most Memorable Moment:

Spending a relaxing afternoon at a Baden- Baden Spa!

review_img

LB Dove

Rhine River cruise from Amsterdam to Basel

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

I would say the best service experience. The Tauck team did an excellent job from the directors to the ancillary staff. Very attentive, courteous & polite. Staff was always prompt & took care of our needs.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner at the castle as well Mt Pilatus.

review_img

jtharp

New Friendships

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

Expectations for a river cruise range from viewing beautiful scenery, land excursions, tranquil sailing, and of course excellent food. Yet, there is another dimension often overlooked, but realized at journey's end.....new friendships and shared memories. The Tauck cruise encourages meeting new people, which often becomes the best experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

A sunny day and front seat view of castles and river towns.

review_img

mkfirstmate

Experience of a Lifetime!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

This trip was on our bucket list and we are so glad we had this experience traveling the Romantic Rhine. Tauck truly exceeded our expectations. The 5-star accommodations and dining was unsurpassed and paying upfront as an all-inclusive package is the only way to travel. Tauck handled everything. We would highly recommend Tauck Travel to all!

Most Memorable Moment:

The Palace dinner was amazing. We had a short tour of the palace and were entertained while enjoying our dinner with many of the new friends we met aboard the ship. In addition I would like to say that the staff and directors on the ship were awesome. The entire experience will be memorable for years to come. Thank you Tauck for a dream come true.

review_img

OLD GUY

OLD BUT STILL TRAVELING

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

AS A SINGLE 91 YEAR OLD FREQUENT TAUCK TRAVELER I CAN SAY TAUCK LIVED UP TO EXPECTATIONS. A RIVER CRUISE PROVIDES THE OPERTUNITY TO LIMIT YOUR PARTICIPATION IF WANTED. CREW WAS GREAT AS ALWAYS. BEING 'LONG IN THE TOOTH' SOMETIMES HAS IT'S ADVANTAGES. THANKS!

Most Memorable Moment:

STAYING ALIVE

review_img

Vickie Langkam

First River Boat Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience. The places visited were interesting, tours handled professionally and sensitivity for the participants comfort (i.e. shade when possible, place to sit, etc.) I have dietary restraints (gluten and lactose intolerant and allergic to chocolate). All options were available and/or modified to perfection!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were too many memorable moments to pick just one. But the massage after the third day was awesome! Our second trip on the Seine has been booked for 2019.

review_img

BuckJ51

We loved the Rhine.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

The Tauck team hits another home run for my wife and me. This was trip number four with Tauck and our expectations were met and exceeded again. The staff, food, and accommodations were excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cruising the upper Rhine Valley through vineyards under the watchful eye of ancient castles but only slightly more memorable than the cathedrals in Cologne and Strasbourg.

review_img

Craig Larson

Romantic Rhine River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Excellent trip. Every aspect of the cruise was well planned. Great crew, from the Cruise Directors to the wait staff and housekeeping - everyone provided excellent service and were focused on making our vacation the best possible. Nice variety of tours - options to go with an excellent guide or go on our own.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sitting on the top deck on a nice afternoon of cruising, admiring the many castles along the river.

review_img

EnJ

Rhine River

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Best of the previous 5 cruises we have been on. Even with inclement weather some of the time I would recommend Tauck trips for everyone. From the quality of the ship to the outstanding staff I cannot find any negatives with this organization.

Most Memorable Moment:

The unexpected hosting of activities that were not listed as part of the trip such as a beer tasting walk in Amsterdam to a tram ride in Cologne.

review_img

MikePeggy

Our First Trip with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

We spent a wonderful week cruising the Rhine River from Basel to Amsterdam. The entire trip was planned down to the smallest of details. All our shore guides were locals and were very knowledgable of the area. We learned and enjoyed every place visited. The meals were great and we enjoyed the themed menus every evening. Our room was kept well also.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our evening at Bacharach. This is such a storybook looking small town and one to not miss on your trip. Beautiful! Koblenz would be my second best for history and the eye appeal

review_img

retoohey

Sailing up the Rhine

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Fantastic trip; the crew of the MS Inspire and the Tauck tour directors were outstanding; even some rain did not affect our excursion experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cruising the upper Rhine Valley

review_img

Curt Hockemeier

Great Value

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Staff couldn't have been more attentive. Local guides were tops. Crew was interpersonally skilled. Ship ran like clock work. Equipment (buses, ship) was new or like new.

Most Memorable Moment:

The crew's performance the next to the last night of our cruse was hilarious and multitalented. It was extraordinary to watch everyone from the Captain to servers perform for our enjoyment -- what talent!

review_img

Deb Walters

River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

This was our first river cruise and it was as "advertised" - wonderful!! We were so lucky with perfect weather and the ship was only half full so we really got to know everyone on the cruise. The staff was top notch and the guides were extremely knowledgeable and fun to be with each day.

Most Memorable Moment:

Meeting all the wonderful people on the ship and the cruise down the river viewing all the castles!

review_img

doodledog

Simply the Best!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

This was my husband's and my first river cruise, and first with Tauck. The cruise itself was wonderful. However, the most impressive aspect was the staff. Our every need/request was met with professionalism and enthusiasm. We were never made to feel that we were a bother. The personal touch was quite astonishing -- We have not one regret.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were several emotional moments, including: The Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam; "The Lion of Luzern" monument; and travelling up Mt. Pilatus.

review_img

English

Mike & Sue Rhine River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Great experience in all respects. Tauck personnel were great to us. The itinerary was interesting, pretty and educational. The vessel was very pretty, staterooms spacious, and food was wonderful. Best of all were the Tauck people and onshore guide that they arranged for us. Everyone was truly great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner the evening in the castle near Koln. Beautiful place and great meal. The history of the castle and family that owns / runs it was most impressive.

review_img

ED4710

Down the Rhine

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Tauck delivered everything they said the would. From the plane to the ship and back everything was taken care of. At the various cities on the itinerary the local or cruise guides were well versed on the history and virtually everything about the area. They were extremely interesting and made the excursions most interesting.

Most Memorable Moment:

Coblenz and the Heidelberg castle stand out but all the tours were great.

review_img

Chenmoon

Super comfort and ease riverboat cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

First river cruise ever and we are so happy that we chose Tauck. From the moment we stepped onboard every detail was taken care of to ensure a most enjoyable and smooth traveling experience. Tauck thought of and covered everything. The standard of services, courtesy, room comfort, food quality was of the highest caliber. All around fabulous.

Most Memorable Moment:

We were the first arriving passengers around 9am (usual check in is in the afternoon) and we were prepared to leave the luggage and return later. Incredibly our cabin was ready within 10 minutes. What fantastic effort by housekeeping! A great first impression. Tauck truly cared and stepped up. Excellent. We appreciate it and thank you.

review_img

ToryMoore

From one memory to another

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

We had an absolute blast! This was our first river cruise, our last was a Regent Alaska cruise and didn't think any would be better but this was better. We couldn't even tell we were on a boat it was so smooth sailing. The staff, rooms, food, guides and excursions all wonderful, we kept the entertainer up past midnight in the lounge. Can't say enough! Wow

Most Memorable Moment:

Attending High Mass performed by a Cardinal at Cologne Cathedral, on Easter Monday, listening to the pipe organ, orchestra and choir sing the Hallelujah Chorus...and we are Protestant. Not a planned excursion but we had tears in our eyes.

review_img

KathrynH

Gems on the Rhine

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

Very welcoming crew and tour director! Very conscientious wait staff. Very pretty scenery. This is a wonderful little tour that everybody will want to experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

I loved the 17-station spa experience which most passengers did not choose. (What an omission!) Remember to bring your swimsuit so you can choose whether to use it during your spa visit.

review_img

Safari

Rhine Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

Best Tauck river Cruise largely because excellent Tauck staff and boat crew. We really like your use of staff who have exceptional English, but are of nationalities other than American. It gives their presentations an authenticity

Most Memorable Moment:

Castle dinner

review_img

Jim and Linda Baratte

Rhine River in full bloom

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

As usual, this Tauck experience was a delicious hybrid of "luxury and spoiling" meeting the full immersion of a mini-course in history, art, architecture, contemporary politics, and culture. We were delighted with spring on the Rhine -- 100 year old magnolias in full bloom at the Castle! Who knew? We loved the choice of options for on-shore trips

Most Memorable Moment:

The Baden-Baden spa! Dinner at the Castle -- magical. Walking tours of historic old towns in our destination cities with excellent guides. We are still marveling at the astrological clock in the Strasbourg Cathedral.

review_img

Lettriches

Refreshing and Renewing on the Rhine!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

Tauck has again delivered an absolutely first class experience for us - the Riverboat trip was perfectly orchestrated to provide a refreshing and renewing experience ----- the excursions on shore gave us a taste of Germany, France and Switzerland motivating us to return for more....................... The Tauck and Riverboat teams 1st class!

Most Memorable Moment:

The morning walks in Baden Baden and Speyer -

review_img

Denny Cummings

Another great experience with Tauck

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

This was our third trip with Tauck. The level of service, the quality of their boats, the quality of their on-board tour guides, the quality of their hand-picked excursions and the choice of first class hotels for trip extensions is superb. We will be traveling with Tauck again the first chance we get.

Most Memorable Moment:

Meeting interesting and enjoyable people on board. The smaller group size allows for easier mixing.

review_img

bt20815

Outstanding ship, cabin, service, food and tours!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

Beyond expectation! Outstanding personal service in every way. The crew et al could not do enough for you. They become your friends, guide you in every way and make your daily goings on a pleasure. Personal service is hallmark. The cabins are all 1st class, dining is superb for every meal. Tours are excellent! We are coming back!

Most Memorable Moment:

ALL of them! But giving each guest 20 euros for lunch when away on tour is a lovely touch!

review_img

Erfoerster

The Romantic Rhine River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

It was our first river cruise, and our first trip with Tauck, and we had a fantastic time. Truck put together the right mixture for us of museum/cathedral tours and scenic tours of the Rhine and surrounding areas. We had great food, great cruise directors and local guides, and Tauck did a great job on organization and attention to details.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was seeing our first castle as we cruised up the Rhine.

review_img

Giusi

Rhine River Cruise southbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

This was our third Tauck trip and I have to admit it might have been the best! The riverboat was awesome and the food and service were wonderful. The excursions were very well planned and local guides were very good. The tour director and all the staff on the riverboat could not have been nicer and more professional! The staff show was terrific!

Most Memorable Moment:

The castle dinner was truly first class!

review_img

JBowen3489

Romantic Rhine - Amsterdam to Basel

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

My wife and I were looking for something special to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. We agreed on a river cruise (!) and went with Tauck on the recommendation of close friends. It certainly turned out to be something special! Can't say enough about the quality, service, and value we received on this trip. It was excellent!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to pick one, but we really enjoyed Amsterdam and our visit to the wine country (Rinquewihr). The accommodations were wonderful, and the service was fantastic. We've been home for two weeks, and still adjusting to the "real" world. Being so spoiled was hard to leave.

review_img

DJAbrams

Unhappy with our room and some staff

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Our 1st river cruise booked in Sept. for May 2016 & only lowest level room available. We asked to be offered better room when someone cancelled, but never were altho we learned some booked later. Room had foul odor & we notified staff twice. Staff only attempted to spray to cover smell, offered no other remedy even tho good room empty

Most Memorable Moment:

Meals both quality & variety of food & level of service & variety of beverages were excellent. Staff was courteous, solicitous, directors helpful & provided interesting information. 2 staff members were memorable for dismissing our concerns and complaints: The manager and tour director made no effort to remedy foul cabin & flight fiasco

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Guest Relations Department, who will be in contact with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Oligaris

Just a little more

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

The trip fine. 1) When in Strausberg, lovely town visiting in morning loved to bicycle it from the ship, which was anchored right next to the bike path going into town, vs taking an afternoon excursion.Due flight connections, traveled/stayed in Zurich, as did MANY other fellow cruisers. Would have liked a pkg for a day extending trip there

Most Memorable Moment:

enjoying the crew show

review_img

williemays24

romantic rhine

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

enjoyed the packed schedule. did not realize that the rhine is a river that for the most part is not worth seeing except for the one section where all the hills and castles are located. had the incorrect assumption that the whole cruise would be like that. luckily, the towns we visited more than made up for it. I can't really explain anything in 35

Most Memorable Moment:

0 characters. or 700, but i'll try.the cruise through the castles area was a big highlight. Strasbourg and BB. the bike ride in Koblenz. being able to get out every day (nearly) to ride one of your bikes was a big plus for me. email me, i'll give you more than 700 characters. joezackley1982@gmail.com. got lots more to say and ask about but no room.

review_img

Margaret Anne

Romatic Rhine

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

We enjoyed being on the new Ship "GRACE" One would expect a few problems needed to be addressed on the first trip, however, everything went as smooth as silk. The whole crew went above and beyond expectations to make everyone feel they really mattered and treated us with utmost respect.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being at the top of Mt.Platius, blue skies, sunshine with snow glistening on the Alps, and the strains of Amazing Grace being played. John Newton could never have imagined such a scene.

review_img

CATSOOS

River Cruising the Rhine

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

The trip and new ship were wonderful, love the new addition of the Arthur eating option. We were able to eat up on outside deck which was really relaxing. This was my 10th Tauck trip, third river cruise. I booked the level one room to get the single supplement savings but was surprised some others were upgraded to level 2 before me.

Most Memorable Moment:

Stopping in the smaller village Bacharach for a late afternoon stroll. As always the tour directors and cruise director were wonderful.

review_img

Ed Mimikos

The Romantic Rhine River Cruise- A trip that we will always Remember

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

The river cruise was on our bucket list. We researched the cruise lines and decided to go with Tauck. We were not disappointed. From the registration process, to the new boat, to the large room. We knew we made the right decision. We got to know most of the staff by first name, enjoyed our relaxing meals in dining room.

Most Memorable Moment:

The stops along the way with the local tour guides. The local wines during dinner and the pleasant and positive staff.

review_img

dliu

Rhine is divine!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

My husband and I travelled with 2 other couples and had a wonderful stress free vacation. River cruising is a very efficient method of traveling and the choices of tours allowed everyone to do as they pleased. The crew and captain were most welcoming and we were truly pampered. The ship was beautiful and the meals were gourmet all the way.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mt. PIlatus was gorgeous. We were very lucky to have good weather.

review_img

Sarasota Girl

wonderful trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

THE TOUR WAS OUTSTANDING IN ALL AREAS. THE SERVICE AND ROOM QUALITY WERE SUPERB.

Most Memorable Moment:

AMSTERDAM

review_img

Whitebirdie

Great trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

This was our second Tauck tour. It was a wonderful trip, but it was exhausting. Not enough time in each city. There is SO much walking, lots of stairs, etc. And there really were no accomodations made for anyone who needed help along the way, until the last day, when one of the guides offered to escort those who needed an elevator.

Most Memorable Moment:

They were all great. Loved taking the cog wheel train up to Mt Pilatus, Strausburg (though would have loved more time there), and the Cologne Cathedral.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall and experienced some truly memorable moments. We are sorry that some aspects fell below your expections and we will be sure to look into your comments. Thank you for traveling with Tauck and do hope you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

tstall

Great trip and ready to sign up for another!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

We just finished the Basel-Amsterdam river cruise on the MS Inspire. It was truly an excellent trip, from the ship, travel directors, crew, meals and itinerary. Tauck really went all out to add little additions to each excursion that made it a fantastic experience. My wife was a little apprehensive before, but we re-upped next year for another.vr

Most Memorable Moment:

The local guide in Strasbourg and Alsace (Katherine) was terrific. As was the first ever dinner in the palace at near Koblenz. A very special evening and we hope it continues on the agenda.

review_img

algebraprof

Cruising The Rhine In The Fall

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Our first river cruise in Europe. The accommodations on MS Inspire were spectacular. We enjoyed the first class service on board. We liked most venues, but felt rushed on days that included 2 cities. Loved just traveling on the river and seeing the spectacular sights. Multiple tour guides made it harder to get to know them like on the land tours.

Most Memorable Moment:

The day traveling on the river and seeing the beautiful castles, and having dinner in one was memorable. We also enjoyed the extra days we spent in Amsterdam. An evening cruise on the canals was a highlight, and everyone spoke English and was friendly. La Petite France section of Strasbourg was charming. Lucerne, Switzerland was very picturesque.

review_img

mikec

Rhine cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2014

This was our first time on a riverboat cruise and Tauck's ship was really nice. This is a very relaxing way to travel in Europe. The cabin was very spacious and the food excellent. The trip to Lucerne was wonderful and the town is in a beautiful location with the lake and the alps. We can't wait to go on another cruise.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going to Lucerne and Mt. Pilatus in Switzerland. Lucerne is a stunning town and going down Mt Pilatus on the cog railway was amazing. The chocolates are really good in Switzerland.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button