TravelerReviews

Christmas Markets Along the Rhine - Northbound

review_img

Cindyinthemountains

Xmas Markets on the Rhine River

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2017

What a wonderfully magical, fairy tale of a trip. It's difficult to state just one or two things that were exceptional. * The MS Inspire is a beautiful ship! * Tauck cruise directors were so kind! * Beautiful Cities! * Wonderful food!

Most Memorable Moment:

Taxi ride back to the ship at 140 kph on the Autobahn from Baden-Baden, Germany, because I was very late meeting the motor coach carrying us back to the ship. The gorgeous ship! The Tauck cruise directors! My beautiful room on the MS Inspire! The food! Making new friends! The Christmas Markets! 1st Tauck trip but not my last!

review_img

Tgarwood44

2017 Rhine Christmas Markets

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2017

It was a terrific experience with excellent excursions. Tauck continues to impress with its sophistication and professionalism, coupled with a personal, warm touch. The itinerary provided a rare opportunity to see and appreciate the various cultures, national personalities, and seasonal festivities of Switzerland, France and Germany.

Most Memorable Moment:

Heidelberg with its castle, old town, and overall setting.

review_img

EHS

Christmas Markets on the Rhine River

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2017

Having traveled with Tauck before, I knew this trip would be first rate. To begin, "Grace," the ship was a five star floating hotel complete with every amenity available. The delicious food and drinks varied at every meal, while the cabins were spotless and comfortable. The cruise directors were top notch. A marvelous experience! Tauck rocks.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were no memorable moments. The entire vacation WAS the memorable event.

review_img

NancyBL

Christmas magic!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2017

After hearing about the Christmas markets on a previous Tauck River cruise, I decided I would like to do the Rhine River Christmas market cruise. I have to say it is magical to see the beautiful towns that we stop at with all their Christmas lights hung and the Christmas stalls with all their goodies. The food was fabulous and I loved it.

Most Memorable Moment:

When people ask me my most memorable moment I never can pick one because everything we do and see is so different and memorable. I loved everything about this trip and want to tell everybody to try it.

review_img

gails

Just fabuloso!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2017

Tauck is THE BEST! The ship only had 113 guests so everything felt very intimate. We got friendly with many of the passengers and many of the staff, who were superb. What made a huge difference for me was the lactose free menu items. The chef was willing to use lactose free milk and cream in many items so I could eat everything. Also special items!

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything

review_img

mary w

Christmas markets along the Line

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2017

This was first river cruise with Tauck and it's not going to be the last. Everything from the day I landed in Germany till end of my Tour in Switzerland was super. Words can't express how fantastic this trip was but I'll use one word, SPECTACULAR.

Most Memorable Moment:

The entire Trip and finding a birthday gift and card in my room and the crew singing a happy birthday song to me.

review_img

NeilHerbert

The very good & the so-so

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2017

The shore activities, a typical German meal, a visit to a casino with snacks and children’s concert, a Christmas cookie making demonstration, etc., were special. The only downside was the dinner service. The food was good, but we never knew who would come to our table to do what and they seemed in a hurry to swipe our plates away.

review_img

CGorham

50/50

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2017

The markets were great but very crowded and there was no real opportunity to see the markets after dark to enjoy all the lights and decorations. The crew on board were very attentive and friendly. The crew was probably the best part of the cruise. I had traveled with Tauck 3 times prior to this trip and I must say the first 3 were great. This one?

Most Memorable Moment:

Arriving in Cologne and having to arrange my own transport to the boat. Then having to take a city bus to the train station because my flights were canceled from Basel and having to overnight in Chicago then paying to have my bag check for the last leg of my trip back to Florida. I forgot sitting 3 hours on the tarmac in Zurich.

review_img

Patfro

River cruise with our friends

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2017

Everything was perfect! We had never been on a cruise and we were extremely satisfied with this type of cruise. Staff anticipated our every need and our room was great!!! The walk-in closet was a big plus. The tours of the towns were wonderful and the local guides were very knowledgeable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Besides enjoying the trip with our 6 friends, the morning we spent cruising the Rhine while listening to one of our guides talk about the various castles.

review_img

WayneYankus

Christmas Markets

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2017

Usual Tauck attention to detail. Employees were very accommodating. Guides language skills were mostly fine. They need to be taller or hold the Tauck sign higher. Companionship excellent. Arthurs was a good addition. Hotel Ernst excellent/ Les Trois Rois less so and twice as expensive. Trip marred by theft of $100 US in 20's from travel wallet

Most Memorable Moment:

Discovery of theft of $100 US from travel wallet at Hotel Les Trois Rois and their lack of concern

review_img

David Nelson

Dream come true!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2017

From the planning with the travel department to the post-cruise drop-off at the airport EVERYTHING was so well done by Tauck. The ship was beautifully decorated & elegantly appointed. The Christmas Markets were magical. Time to plan another Tauck Tour!

Most Memorable Moment:

We came back frozen & wet from visiting the Christmas Market in Aachen. We were greeted with warm towels & big smiles & were enveloped into the gorgeous lobby and offered delicious cookies to distract us from the cold. A huge team moved us on board quickly & the chilly times were quickly forgotten.

review_img

Roo

Tauck was not magical

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2017

Based on a Danube river cruise and a Tauck land Switzerland trip, I booked this trip for my daughter and me, expecting Tauck to blow the other cruise line out of the water. Did not happen. All the elements of a planned trip were there...just nothing special about the ship atmosphere. Might it be that the crew has no incentive due to no tipping?

Most Memorable Moment:

Having a light snow fall up at the Heidelberg Castle

review_img

Bickie

Christmas Markets Cruise 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2016

We were a group of 4 Australian's. As we boarded the vessel in Cologne, we were left speechless by the absolute elegance of our surroundings. Our cabins were luxurious and the whole experience was magical. The crew worked above and beyond to ensure we had an exceptional time. Nothing was too much trouble.

review_img

westover

Rhine Christmas Markets Cruise - December 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2016

Great ship cabin and crew service. Public areas on ship very nice. Great ports and tours. Tauck personnel did excellent job. Only concern was mediocre quality of dinners aboard ship. Similar to that on mediocre ocean cruise lines. Breakfast and lunches were excellent. Weather was excellent. No rain or snow. Cold but not unbearably so.

Most Memorable Moment:

A very festive and delightful time to be in Europe! Would have been nicer if ship was docked in more convenient locations to towns visited. Felt security was excellent. Was there between terrorist threat in Strasbourg and incident in Berlin. Security always of concern now. Tauck very accommodating and welcoming. No problems with Rhine water level.

review_img

RogFran

Loved the Christmas Markets!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2016

This was our first Tauck river cruise. We were very impressed with how organized the trip was. No hitches anywhere along the way, from pick up at the train station to drop off. The staff was very warm, inviting and helpful. Food was great! And special activities in the evening were fun. Tour guides were very knowledgeable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved the stop at Rudesheim where we toured the music box museum, had the special Rudesheim coffee and cookies at a local restaurant, and then had time to relax, explore, eat, and shop in the evening.

review_img

PeterZgeb

Second time was just as wonderful as the first.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2016

This was our second river cruise with Tauck. It was a wonderful trip, just like the first time. Tauck staff takes care of everything so you don't have to worry about anything. Everybody is friendly and very helpful. The service is exceptional and the food is great. We will be back for sure.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to mention.

review_img

karenkludt

Tauck ChristmasMarket River Cruise on the Rhine

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2016

I gave my son this trip as a special birthday gift and we both had a fantastic time! The boat was so beautifully decorated in Christmas finery and comfortable as well. The crew were so passenger-focused, very warm and friendly and fun. The food was delicious and soooo plentiful. This is my third Tauck trip and I plan to do more in the future.

Most Memorable Moment:

The beautiful, magical Christmas markets of Europe!

review_img

Travelcrazy

I Am Really Hooked on the Riverboats

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2015

This was my 10th Tauck tour and second riverboat trip. Riverboats are definitely the way to travel...I love going someplace different every day and having my room go with me...no packing and unpacking! With Tauck, you have a more intimate experience than some other options. I have another Tauck riverboat cruise reserved in 2016 and can't wait.

Most Memorable Moment:

I started to write what I especially liked and realized it was almost everything! Strasbourg, German lunch in Heidelberg, Siegfrieds Mechanisches Musikkabinett (musical museum) and brandied coffee in Rüdesheim, the Koln cathedral, collecting Glühwein cups and mugs at the different markets...all great! As was the boat's mulled wine at day's end!

review_img

Gidget

Christmas Spirit

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2015

Another great Tauck trip! Since this was our 10th trip with the company we continue to have wonderful experiences. This was our second trip on the Inspire and we love the Scilla crew. Going South to North is great because you get a rest toward the end of the trip. Take an extra suitcase. You will buy a lot of Christmas décor! Have fun!

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking in to the hotel lobby in Basel and seeing a couple we met in September on the Canyon Lands trip. We had begged them to come and they did! We really had fun!

review_img

magracz

An excellent trip but a few observations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2015

Excellent trip: The ship, the food and drinks and, especially, the friendly crew. Need more, better explanations of local history, architecture, etc. Include the Speyer cathedral in the trip. Saw it at night and it was closed. Why travel the most beautiful part of the Rhein at night? Why Baden-Baden without the Black Forest?

Most Memorable Moment:

Our last dinner on board. Strasbourg after dark, Riquewihr and Colmar.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed your comments on the itinerary on to our Operations team, who is always looking to enhance our journeys based on feedback from our guests.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Emily C

Xmas River Cruise soundbound on Rhein river

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2015

The food was always delicious, the staff was friendly, professional and helpful. The riverboat was very comfortable and also my bed. The boat even had a tiny library of four or five small shelves which was more that enough. Most of the other travellers were friendly and I enjoyed some interesting conversations.

Most Memorable Moment:

My favorite Xmas markets were in the smaller towns in France although the market in Strasbourg was better than I thought since ususally big city markets tired me.

review_img

BIannucci

Christmas markets on the rhine- north

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

Excellent service, wonderful and relaxing atmosphere.

review_img

czdzpz

Chrisatmas Markets 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

The boat was beautiful and the people were very nice. The excursions were great. The little extras did make it a special trip. The area that would need attention is the food service area. Night when it was open sitting, the service was very slow with lots of areas that we did not feel we were at a nice restaurant.

Most Memorable Moment:

The special extra germany lunch we had on one of the tours was great.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your overall trip. We are sorry that the food service fell below your expectations but rest assured we will look into this matter immediately. We thank you for your patronage and looking forward to hosting you on a future trip.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

cruise lover

absolutely loved it

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

After doing many sea cruises, we didn't know how we'd like the river cruising experience. It does take a day or so of adjusting but then we absolutely loved it! The "Inspire" was decorated beautifully and got us in the mood immediately. The staff couldn't have been kinder and made every effort to make our trip absolutely amazing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Riquewehr, Colmar and Strasbourg were absolutely beautiful. We had the best lunch ever in Strasbourg.

review_img

Regatta

A week of total pampering

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

It was obvious the Tauck crew were trained in providing a memorable week on the Inspire. All the staff were professional, and friendly, some funny and always available for our every desire. A real treat to spend time in their care. The cruise directors were knowledgeable, and very professional and well organized. The meals were five star.

Most Memorable Moment:

Checking into our spacious comfortable accommodation with a great view on the port side. And, the silky bedding on a very comfortable bed.

review_img

whereskrispy

Wonderful Christmas Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

Nothing puts you in the spirit of Christmas like a river boat cruise. It is so fun to see all the decorations and visit the markets. I would have to say the best lights are in Strasbourg, the Koln Cathedral is magnificent!

Most Memorable Moment:

Koln Cathedral and chandeliers in Strasbourg.

review_img

Long

Wonderful Christmas Shopping Trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

This is a once in a lifetime trip that you will not be sorry you took. Despite the crowds (and it is very crowded), it is very unique. The tour guide was very helpful and the spirit of the Season was definitely in the air. Dress warm and be prepared for some fun!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything about the tour. We had a great time and encourage everyone to do it.

review_img

Jensen1320

First time with Tauck, but not the last

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

Having done our homework, well as much as we could on line, regarding Tauck, what a wonderful surprise this turned out to be. Really, the guest is paramount with everything from start to finish. From hotel arrangements to Airport departure, first class. The itinerary was superb, the staff wonderful, the food first class, including all the guests.

Most Memorable Moment:

The splendor of the Christmas Markets, the little surprises along the way wonderful.The very humbling visits to the cathedrals in Cologne and Heidelberg, the mixing with locals who, like you, are there to simply take in the occasion.Just to see a coming together of people from across the globe in unison, truly remarkable and forever a memory.

review_img

DCGravatt

Debbie's Trip of a Lifetime!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2013

Boarded the Swiss Sapphire ship in Basil and cruised the Rhine River thru Germany & France. Ended trip in Cologne, Germany.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Christmas Market & Christmas decorated streets in Strasbourg, Germany were so beautiful and breath taking. We had a blast in that city!

review_img

JRoos

Rhine Christmas

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2013

We were on the Christmas Market cruise from Basel to Cologne with Christmas Market visits at each stop. We had lived in Germany many years ago so it was also a homecoming of sorts. Each town or village that we visited was special in its way and we enjoyed the bus rides from the ship to the day's destination as we got to see some countryside.

Most Memorable Moment:

We really enjoyed Heidelberg and the lunch at the Ritter hotel. The city itself is a very special place and the tour that was provided and the lunch made it extra special.

review_img

RobertaJim

magical

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2013

The Christmas Markets Rhine riverboat cruise was magical. The riverboat was just the right size and beautifully furnished and the cabins were well designed and even had a 110 v outlet en suite to charge cell phones and shavers..such a convenience! We were had plenty to keep us busy on board and in port. And if you wanted, there was time to rest.

Most Memorable Moment:

The markets at night.

review_img

Portolan

Christmas Markets & a Tauck tour...what could be better?

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2013

After several land tours with Tauck, this was our first on one of their riverboats (Swiss Sapphire). Certainly, we expected to have a great time visiting all of the Christmas markets in Germany, France and Switzerland along the Rhine, but even with our very high expectations, this trip exceeded them by a wide margin!

Most Memorable Moment:

What a hard choice! The ship was beautiful, the food excellent, the itinerary very good, but it was, after all, about the Christmas Markets. So, the most authentic and picturesque was the hill-side town of Riquewihr, France. Medieval narrow streets & lanes with brightly colored half-timbered houses and lots of small pockets of Christmas markets.

review_img

R.E.

Christmas Markets North Along the Rhine

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2012

We arrived home on the 16th. This was our 11th Tauck trip. My husband and I enjoyed this trip more than any other. We look forward to many more river cruises.

Most Memorable Moment:

The entire trip!!!

review_img

Martin Engquist

Christmas Markets on the Rhine, December 2012

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2012

Tauck was terrific! The entire staff was knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful throughout the tour. Their attention to every detail made the trip totally carefree. From the moment of arrival until the time to leave, they made us feel like a family. It's no wonder so many travelers were repeat customers--we will also travel with Tauck again.

Most Memorable Moment:

While in Baden Baden, Tauck arranged a surprise for us--a group of school children came to our brunch at the casino to serenade us with Christmas carols. How wonderfully they performed. It was a generous and thoughtful surprise which infused us with a heart warming feeling of holiday spirit. Thank you Tauck--well done and a real touch of class!

review_img

jsordi

Christmas Markets along the Rhine - Southbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2012

My wife and I were amazed with the various markets and the people. It was like Christmas every day. A tour well worth taking.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many memorable moments we would be hardpressed to single one out. A great trip.

review_img

Nancy Wilson

Worth it all!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2012

Well done Tauck. Our time was well spent. The guides were well informed and interesting. Even with the bad weather we enjoyed our time. We were well taken care of, the ship was beautiful and very comfortable and the people attending us were the best. Thanks

Most Memorable Moment:

Most of our moments were memorable!

review_img

Wuestski

Magical Markets

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2012

This trip was everything we expected it to be and more. The markets are truely magical. Europe really knows how to get you in the Christmas spirit. Tauck knows how to spoil. We had treats and surprises daily. What a wonderful way to kick off the Holiday Season.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our perfect snow day in Strasbourg, France

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button