TravelerReviews

Blue Danube: Family Riverboat Adventure – Eastbound

review_img

GWinterstein

Blue Danube - Three Generations - Fabulous Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Everyone, including the 10 & 13 year old, had a wonderful time. Crew was amazing, great service, fabulous Tour Directors, beautiful ship, yummy meals and lots for kids to do. Activities like scavenger hunts, Tauck bucks games, escape room on board made it fun for kids. Great local guides, Tauck took care of all the logistics. Beautiful scenery!

Most Memorable Moment:

So many to choose from - private dinner in Vienna Palace, bike ride in Durnstein along the vineyards, Prater Amusement Park bumper cars against Tauck staff, meal times, water balloon fight on deck. Great family time and a luxurious no hassle vacation.

review_img

PatriciaMartin

Bridges Blue Danube River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

The trip was awesome! The ship was so nice and the food and service was outstanding. The entire Tauck staff did a wonderful job. We can't say enough nice things about the trip. We highly recommend this trip for multi generational families.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many memorable moments. We loved the small towns. Sailing away from Passau and our first lock experience was exciting. Riding bikes along the Danube was fun. The Palace dinner was really special as was the sunset dinner on top while sailing to Budapest. The Tauck Staff were memorable!

review_img

Monikat

The most important piece of information you need when deciding to go with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

As this was our second Tauck Bridges Trip, I did not do much advance planning because I knew all logistics would be seamless and activities would be fun, informative and exciting for children, teens, adults, and seniors alike. We chose a river cruise bc our athletic 12 y.o. daughter could move around the ship vs. sit on a bus seat between stops.

Most Memorable Moment:

Both my husband and I loved hiking to the castle then swimming in the Danube. Also the Vienna palace dinner with the traditional singers/dancers/ensemble. Our tween and teen had so much fun-too hard to choose. Bike riding by vineyards, kite-flying from the ship top, going under bridges and watching the locks open are some lesser-touted joys.

review_img

S10

Truly Impressed; Thank You Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

I am not impressed easily,I consider myself a seasoned traveller, and very good at planning our family (myself, husband, daughter 17 and son 14) adventures.I am determined to instill the love of travel and discovery in our children. Tauck Family Danube River Cruise was our first organized tour.Wow! Exceeded our expectations! It was in the details.

Most Memorable Moment:

Who can choose a most Memorable Moment!!Our Family has memories to last a lifetime. Thank you to the Tauck Team; as my son said in reflection "They made me feel like a King" and my daughter shared "Thanks Mom, it was an awesome family vacation"-from making new friends, dining in castles and flying kites on the back of a boat on the Danube--Smiles.

review_img

Unworldly Traveler

Best Trip Ever

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Just returned from my river cruise and it far surpassed all my expectations. We had amazing cruise/tour directors. Always "up" and extremely knowledgeable. The entire staff was always ready to do whatever was necessary to make our trip perfect. I can't say enough good things. Wish I had more room to say more

Most Memorable Moment:

There are so many. No one experience stands out beyond the others. The dinner in the palace was great, spending time at the Prater and winning my stuffed raccoon was fun, sitting on the sun deck and watching the scenery go by was very relaxing. The bike tour in Passau, and tours of the palaces and castles was great as well.

review_img

PattyDoug

Perfect experience from start to finish!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

From the moment our family of three set foot on board the MS Esprit, we felt at home. The service was first rate from the family friendly tours and special surprises to the meals, cabin crew, entertainment and bartenders. Our Tauck Director was perfect! We never felt rushed or bored. Our suite was comfortable and spacious. The food was delicious! Ciao for now!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were several great moments but I loved the Palace dinner & music the most. My hubby enjoyed the Prater amusement park where we stopped at the very top of the Ferris wheel with our new friends during the fireworks! My 12 year old daughter enjoyed Durnstein. Notably: the bike ride and the hike to the castle followed by a cool dip in the Danube.

review_img

JAustin

Perfect for our family

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

My husband and I traveled with our 17 year old son on the Blue Danube Family Riverboat Adventure. We had looked into other river cruises, but decided on this one based on the fact that it was a family tour. The itinerary, food, service, guides, accommodations, tours and activities were all excellent. We will most definitely travel with Tauck again.

Most Memorable Moment:

Durnstein - biking and hiking to the castle ruins with a refreshing swim in the river afterwards

review_img

dleirattar

fantastic time with tauck bridges river cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

We booked with Tauck for the first time.Tauck delivered everything they promised and much more. We chose bridges river cruise starting in Budapest.The service was outstanding.The staff were bending their backs and working hard to accomodate the needs of all guests and make them feel welcome.special thanks to the main lounge staff.

Most Memorable Moment:

The imperial Gala night in Vienna,the carriage ride,the scenery on the deck,the scenery from our cabin every morning was breathtaking.We enjoyed every and each moment.Many thanks to the staff and the organizers.

review_img

onthego

family Danube River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

From start to finish the trip was enjoyable. There was always something for the kids to do and local food to eat in the dining room. They didn't realize how educational some of the activities were - they were varied - sight seeing, bike riding, swimming in the Danube, scavenger hunts plus dinner at a palace with waltz lessons. Fun trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Fourth of July celebration - dinner on the ship with a flag cake and then fun at the Prater amusement park.

review_img

Craigs

Danube Bridges Program

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

We took a Tauck Bridges Cruise down the Danube. We have three kids with varying ages and my Mother was with our family for this amazing experience. The best part of this vacation was that there really was, "something for everyone." Tauck does an great job of finding interesting activities for the kids and adults together-another perfect trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was the night we all got dressed up and went to a palace for dinner and an amazing musical and waltz performance in Vienna. It felt so authentic and we will never forget the overall feeling of being immersed in the cultural and historical significance of Vienna.

review_img

StTropez

Great trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

We had a wonderful time seeing all towns and villages from our floating hotel. MS Joy was a beautiful boat with immaculate facilities and excellent staff. Food was delicious. It was really great to see all kids having such good time.

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinner in palace in Vienna, evening in Prater, and Karaoke night with adults dancing and singing together with children.

review_img

Goo

Truck succeeded again!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

We saw memorable and historical sites on a our Danube trip but Tauck managed to make it so much fun for our three generations traveling together. My grandchildren made new friends but we still had quality family time. There was always the extra touch of a carriage ride, bike ride, flying kites, karaoke and historic ferris wheel. It was fabulous!

Most Memorable Moment:

I loved our squeals of delight as we explored and were tricked in the gardens of Hellbrunn Castle. I also loved the sight of our kites as we floated down the river with ancient castles on the shore.

review_img

filsan

Another perfect trip with Bridges

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

Everything went perfectly- all events were oriented to the children, but still enjoyable to the adults. Each city had its unique charm. The help on the boat couldn't do enough for us. This is our fifth Bridges trip and all were equally unique. Only hitch was too much time at Munich airport on last day.(six hours) Each city was educational for th

Most Memorable Moment:

All were memorable. The castle in Vienna and the karioke night watching the children perform. A lot of hidden talent.

review_img

MsLisa

Spoiled beyond expectations!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

Our first cruise and first as a family. Went on the Blue Danube River Cruise.The ship (MS Savor) all shiny & new served by invisible, dedicated crew. Food was amazing and each day's offering reflected where we were (apricot dumplings in Durnstein). Top shelf drinks and snacks at your will! The hardest working cruise directors! Tauck is the best!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Enjoying the Prater amusement park in Vienna! How fun to be with your children doing something they enjoy in the most beautiful city in the world? They had so much fun and the Tauck Directors were always there making sure we were having the time of our lives!

review_img

Seabrz

Exceptional Touring

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

We took this trip last summer and wow, it still rocks in my mind. The boat was outstanding! The meals were superlative!! The service was outstanding. The ports of call were really interesting. What a nice way to travel Prima Classe!.

Most Memorable Moment:

Castles and more castles. The evening in Vienna palace will never be surpassed!

review_img

meg dinapoli

Cruising on the Danube

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Traveling on a Tauck cruise ship is first-class. The cabins for 3 persons were very large and comfortable with very nice bathrooms. The food was delicious and the service was excellent, with a variety of options for the kids. The tours ashore were well-planned and punctual, using modern and lovely buses. The trip was fun and educational.

Most Memorable Moment:

The magnificent dinner and performance of opera and ballet at the private palace.

review_img

VinInCT

Loved It!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

Our river cruise on the Danube was the first of any kind for us. The MS Jewel was an absolutely beautiful vessel and the crew was fantastic. The cabins were nicely appointed and of a decent size. Food aboard the vessel was excellent as well, with top notch service.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Austriian countryside is absolutely gorgeous. Each stop unique. Slovakia, Budapest an absolute and unexpected delight. I highly recommend arriving ahead of the tour start and stay a day or two in Munich at the end. One MAJOR disappointment was the dinner at the palace. Food was barely edible. Would rather have had dinner on our own in Vienna.

review_img

Lynne

This trip was terrific

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

We took our 14 year old granddaughter on the Bridges Blue Danube cruise. She had a wonderful time. The kids all bonded beautifully, and the activities that were planned for them were great. I was grateful for the taxis provided for people who couldn't make some of the walks. And for the flexibility of giving us time to go to the street fair in Linz

Most Memorable Moment:

The incredible organ concert at Passau!

review_img

DEnglert

Blue Danube Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Our trip down the Blue Danube with the family was one of the best organized, fun and educational trips that our well traveled family has experienced. The convience and comfort of being on the boat the entire week while we visited 4 countries was awesome. Our two boys (14 and 11) made some lasting friendships on the cruise.

Most Memorable Moment:

Listening to my son (14) sing with his new friends with Elisabeth von Trapp after dinner. She was our very special guest on this cruise. This is a vacation I would recommend and will recommend to all my friends and family. Just wonderful.

review_img

LDK

Bridges Danube River Cruise Was a Winner!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

The Swiss Sapphire was a first class floating hotel. This was the perfect vacation to share with family. It was fun seeing familiar fountains and gazebos from the Sound of Music, and watching our daughter conduct the Vienna Philharmonic Symphony in the Haus der Musik. We enjoyed riding bikes, making Marzipan and playing Medieval games.

Most Memorable Moment:

The evening dining and dancing at the palace with the prince's full staff available to us was the highlight of my trip! We enjoyed the musicians and ballet dancers, and felt as though we were royalty at a dinner fit for a prince! The memory of that evening will forever shine. Again, Tauck provided an opportunity for us to experience Europe.

review_img

JNewton

Blue Danube: Family Riverboat Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

All aspects of the trip were outstanding. From the Riverboat itself, the crew, staff and Tauck personnel, everyone went out of the way to make our tour special. The Tauck cruise and tour directors were enthusiastic and especially good with the children. This is an active tour, especially for grandparents. Good mix of culture and play.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were two: The Imperial Evening in Vienna at a historic palace, complete with dinner, performances, and waltzing. Also, we especially enjoyed the stop at Durnstein, the tour of the village, and the bicycle ride through the countryside to the town of Krems. To celebrate our Anniversary, we had a special meal and dessert in the Lido.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us and we are delighted you enjoyed your journey so much!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

TN-MACS

Blue Danube-bridges

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

Wonderful way to see so many unique places and incredible cities and countries. Plus, a great experience for our kids, 11 and 13. The cruise director and tour directors couldn't have been better. Best of all, we met so many nice families that we could share our memories with.

Most Memorable Moment:

The beautiful church in Durnstein, the hike that afternoon, and sitting on deck and taking in the scenery along the Danube between Durnstein and Passau.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button