TravelerReviews

Rhine Enchantment, Milan to Amsterdam

review_img

Meemaw68

Romantic Rhine

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Very nice, however it should have been rated as a Level 3 for Activity and not a Level 2 as many people including myself had a hard time with steep hills and stairs and we were told a few times that there were no steps when indeed there were steps.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing all the beautiful cities and especially the castles as we sailed.

review_img

JTK

Memorable Rhine Riverboat Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

A wonderful experience. I rank it next to our Budapest to Amsterdam river trip. It can be challenging for travelers with physical problems. There is a significant amount of walking on cabblestones. Some on level surfaces and some with inclines. Tauck did offer easier paced groups at various stops. The MS Grace and its crew were magnificent.

Most Memorable Moment:

The afternoon and evenings spent cruising the Rhine.

review_img

djw

Awesome River Cruise Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

This was our first river cruise, Milan to Amsterdam. We had a wonderful time. We thoroughly enjoyed the food aboard the Grace. We enjoyed the excursions that we chose. The local guides were informative. The cruise directors and tour director were pleasant. The bus trips were smooth and easy.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were lots of memorable moments. Castle ping pong on the Rhine was a favorite, we enjoyed the walking tours of Zurich and the days in Heidelberg and Lake Como.

review_img

Mary EMcHale

Wonderful experience!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

This was my first Tauck tour and my first river cruise. It was beyond my expectations. From the first day of the tour to the last, everything was top-notch. The accommodations on the boat were comfortable, the food was delicious, the staff and crew went above and beyond to make the tour truly memorable. Can’t wait to book my next Tauck tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing The Last Supper in Milan, Italy.

review_img

J'aim Paris

Rhine river cruise.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Overall a great trip. Areas of disappointment were: First night reception/dinner at the Principe Hotel. The meal, main course and only dinner selection was beef cheeks. I had never seen this on a menu. I would never order. Also, when ordering a drink at the reception was told it was a cash bar. Visit to the foie gras tasting.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visit to Lake Como, beautiful and a great lunch. DaVinci's Last Supper. Powerful and beautiful. Continued from above. No explanation by host. W hotel in Amsterdam. It was "over the top". More suited for hipsters than Tauck clientele. The pool, advertised as roof top, was nothing more than a lap pool and not a person was in it.

review_img

WilliamBrooks III

Rhine Enchantment Milan to Amsterdam

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

This is by far one of the most memorable trips we have taken. Our first river cruise, and not to be our last. Tauck is so organized that they have anticipated your every need. Absolutely first class in every respect; food, accommodations and excursions. We will recommend and be a Tauck traveler again. The Tauck & local guides were very knowledge

Most Memorable Moment:

For sure the Last Supper, the lunch at Lake Como, castle in Heidelberg, and the UNESCO portion of the Rhine with the castles were all so amazing, it is so very difficult to pick just one with such a super packed trip...don’t miss this one for sure.

review_img

smswss

Milan to Amsterdam

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Overall: Very, very good!!! Would travel with Tauck again. Needs improvement: the hotel in Milan was excellent and had a wonderful restaurant but for the Welcome Dinner the choice of braised beef cheeks was not well received. When you have a large group it should be the salmon, etc. The Wine Estate dinner: have outside/tented.

Most Memorable Moment:

Several: the Last Supper, Lake Como and the lunch there, UNESCO part of the Rhine, the ship and room were lovely, Black Forest bike ride, Zurich and the Chagal windows, one of the Tauck Directors, the Amsterdam canal/lunch event, and the lunar eclipse. Fellow travelers were a good group of people.

review_img

caneel

Rhine Enhantment Milan to Amsterdam

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Great trip, really enjoyed the boat and the room. We had the category 7 room and the extra seating area and breakfast in the room was really enjoyable. Good food and great people. Tauck has a lot of daily tours but we have always skipped one to rest and this skipping of an afternoon or morning tour really helps.

Most Memorable Moment:

Colmar was beautiful and the last super was a real treat. Lake Como. The great condition of the boat was really nice.

review_img

Sally B

First Tauck Trip - Rhine River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

While we have traveled internationally before, this is the first time that we used Tauck. It was based on recommendation from our good friends who we traveled with. What impressed me about Tauck is their commitment to making each guest feel comfortable.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's difficult to find just one memorable moment. I enjoyed the trip to Lake Como, the leisurely travel on the Rhine River, and the charming cities of Heidelberg and Dusseldorf. Kudos to the ship's main chef for sharing with me her recipe for Dutch tomato soup. I can't wait to try it.

review_img

Lyle Larson

Rhine Enchantment Milan to Amsterdam

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

The trip was great. Tauck does everything "First Class". Our first Tauck trip and was impressed with everything provided.

Most Memorable Moment:

Each day provided a memorable moment with stops at so many different Ports. The day in Lake Como was especially special. Great scenery and a very special lunch on an Island.

review_img

Tiptwo2

Radiant Rhine

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

The Tauck family went out of their way to make this trip a special memory. The entire staff made sure that the little things made all the difference ... from the intimate conversations, to planning great excursions, to calling, calling, calling on the lost baggage (not Tauck's fault!).

Most Memorable Moment:

Dining at Locanda dell'Isola Comacina and cruising on Lake Como.

review_img

Elljo

Wonderful Rhine River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

We were initially drawn to the Rhine Enchantment Trip by it's itinerary and we were not disappointed. We loved the combination of spending time in Milan, Lake Como and Zurich and then visiting some lovely towns along the Rhine before arriving in Amsterdam. The MS Inspire had very spacious rooms and it's crew was great as were the Tauck directors.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to choose as there were many. Lake Como, Rudesheim and the Alsace region were highlights of our trip.

review_img

Dinamo

Hindsight- Great trip for many, but wish we didn't go

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

We were not appropriate for this trip. We like to take in local scenes, enjoy abundant free time, get going early, dine locally, shop and truly take in a place. This didn't happen for us on this trip. Nothing against Tauck. We may not be their ideal client. Being our 1st cruise, we didn't know if this is typical or not. Ask questions! Wish I did.

Most Memorable Moment:

Lake Como lunch- 3 hours of fun, but at the expense of little free time in Bellagio. Last Supper- After hours visit was cool but the Gift shop was closed so no souvenirs. Canal Boat Tour; Train trip to Basel. Great boat, Great Crew-- awesome time on the boat because of the fantastic crew and Tauck staff.

review_img

FrankAltieri

Somewhat disappointed-not up to the standard

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Not as organized as I expected. One experienced tour director and two very nice but inexperienced ones. Some days too hectic...bike trips not thought out..eg what happens if weather gets bad! W hotel in Amsterdam below par. Food choices at meet and greet dinner in Milan poorly selected. Ship and crew were terrific....would have enjoyed more land time

Most Memorable Moment:

Private after hours viewing of The Last Supper. Excellent!

review_img

MouseMom39

An Unanticipated Disappointment

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Unlike any of our previous Tauck trips before, the lack of organization & information given to us in advance by the tour directors impacted several travelers (i.e.not informing us until we arrived of the need to climb 4 flights of stairs to get to lunch), as did being given no way to reach the directors in an emergency if they were out of the hotel

Most Memorable Moment:

They were many wonderful moments on this trip, including the lovely countries & cities we visited & the Ms Inspire and its crew. Among our favorites were The Last Supper, Lake Como, the lovely town of Colmar in Alsace, & a unique and fun culinary tour of Dusseldorf. Hopefully the above issues (& some we couldn't mention) will be addressed soon.

review_img

MikefromChiTown

Memorable and Very Unique River Boat Experience

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Pro: spacious cabin with walk in closet, large double sink bathroom. Great food on board, phenomenal wine, service. One tour director was a hoot to talk with. All crew were very helpful. Been to Comar on business five times. Adding this town for 45 minutes was a waste. Too rushed and key sights missed. Do not fly KLM from Chicago- old!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Phenomenal scenery- and lunch on island in Lake Como. As a pro travel photographer (on vacation), I appreciated the great vistas of the Alps, Lake and Villas reflected in the water. Also had great scenery and photo opportunities from the ship as travelled through the Rhine Valley. Skip Dusseldorf and spend more time in the Alsace and Heidelberg.

review_img

Cook244

Spectacular trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

The Rhine Enchantment trip was truly memorable. The tours were outstanding of Milan, Lake Como, Zurich, Alsace, Rüdesheim, Heidelberg, Düsseldorf and Amsterdam. The tour guides were excellent and so very knowledgeable of their subjects. The food and beverages were much better than the typical cruise fare. The stateroom was very comfortable.

Most Memorable Moment:

The private showing of The Last Supper was breath taking.

review_img

judifromchi

Rhine Enchantment - May 2018

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

4 days in Milan. Train to Basel. Boarded ship. Made stops along the Rhine, ending in Amsterdam. Total days of trip - 13, included extra night in Milan. Cabin rooms were great. Loved walk-in closet and bathroom. Liked having Arthur's as alternative. Some days too hectic, i.e. Colmar. We'd hv liked more time there & skip wine tasting & pate.

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable was Lake Como, boat ride to Bellagio. Very pretty, and were blessed with perfect weather. Liked Colmar. We'd hv liked more time there and skip wine tasting/pate. Enjoyed Musikabinett in Rudesheim and canal cruise in Amsterdam. Also enjoyed dinner at castle.

review_img

DebraSuslow

Milan to Amsterdam River Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

We had a wonderful time!! As always, Tauck does everything first class. The hotel in Milan, the boat was gorgeous and most of the days and tours were fantastic. The service on the ship and crew are so friendly, however, the cruise directors were not as nice as those we have had in the past.

Most Memorable Moment:

The lunch on Lake Como, visiting Colmar in France and cruising the Rhine were all high points of the trip.

review_img

Exlandlubber

Extra touches made the trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

This was our first trip with Tauck, but it won’t be our last. From the moment we cleared customs and had Tauck reps waiting for us, till our last extra day in Amsterdam when the driver arrived promptly at our hotel for our return trip to the airport, Tauck handled every detail flawlessly. The service went beyond anything we had ever experienced.

Most Memorable Moment:

The private showing of The Last Supper and dinner at the castle.

review_img

Anthony Buonanno

Rhine River Enchancement Rocks

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

It was 1st class all the way. We were in Milan and had private viewing of last supper. Guides were knowledgeable, very relaxing. Food/Wine awesome and it wasn't an obnoxious amount. Room/Shower on ship is large enough. There was enough free time and no pressure to stay with group. Directors were genuine and nice and helpful!!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Last Supper viewing Rudesheim vineyard and castle was a close second

review_img

lindae

Wonderful Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

Milan extension to Rhine Cruise was a nice addition. Loved seeing the Duomo and LaScala. All the local guides were very good, but I sometimes felt too many sites were packed into too little time. The menus and tastings were fantastic, but again on some days too many were included. I loved the trip but felt it was not as seamless as a prior Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Lake Como boat cruise and visit to Bellagio were awesome.

review_img

candycase

tauck milan to amsterdam trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

excellent in all regards...highly recommend Tauck..unfortunately I became quite ill prior to our arrival in Amsterdam .. Our Tauck Director was wonderful and found an excellent doctor to make an immediate housecall..Our Tauck Director then picked up my prescriptions for me at the nearby pharmacy..the staff on MS Treasures was kind and obliging re meal delivery

Most Memorable Moment:

loved our Milan hotel, disliked W Amsterdam, not for our age group suggest you rethink this...

review_img

Emjay

Even better than expected!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

As a frequent Tauck traveller going on my 1st River Cruise I expected a good experience. This seamless journey far exceeded my expectations. One great surprise after another on this floating 5 star Hotel. No detail not attended to. Tauck you've done it again!!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many, however the Lunch at Isola Comacina on Lake Como was a highlight.

review_img

RitaMcBride

Rhine Enchantment - Milan to Amsterdam - River Cruising and Land touring at its best

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

The Rhine Enchantment tour was a wonderful combination of land touring and river cruising. The Tour Director, Tour Guides, local guides and staff were professional and provided exemplary service and guidance. The towns, villages and cultural experiences were informative and enjoyable. I returned home renewed and ready for another Tauck tour!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing The Last Supper after hours with our group was an awesome experience. I also enjoyed the scenic train ride through the Alps and the beautiful Alsatian village of Colmart. Spending time on the ship was also a highlight. Our director, guides and staff were amazing -- so friendly and helpful.

review_img

gngal

Bravo Tauck! Perfect service, itinerary and accommodations.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

The headline says it all. Our trip was perfect on all fronts. Milan hotel Principe Savoie was palatial and perfectly situated. Scylla Treasures offered superb food, service, comfort. Delightful itinerary with perfect balance of tours and free time. Our enthusiastic and knowledgeable tour directors did a great job all around.

Most Memorable Moment:

Milan offered numerous memorable sights - Last Supper, Duomo, museums etc. We particularly enjoyed the smaller towns in Alsace and along the Rhine- Colmar, Riquewihr, Rudesheim. The day in Lake Como was truly memorable.

review_img

Renart

Rhine Enchantment Milan to Amsterdam

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

From Milan on it was a delight. The ms Treasures was just that. A Treasure. Alsace and Germany Switzerland Amsterdam. Great itinerary. My daughter and I really loved this trip

Most Memorable Moment:

The many castles on the Rhine The bucket ride in Rudesheim

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button