TravelerReviews

Venice & the Dalmatian Coast

review_img

MimiH77

Venice & the Dalmatian Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Interesting & relaxing trip.

review_img

LaVonneDrager

Venice and the Dalmatian Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

What a trip - few days in Venice and then 8 days aboard the Le Lyrial experiencing the most spectacular sunsets and sunrises from my wonderful cabin! Weather of sunshine added to the pleasure of the cruise. Arriving by water taxi to the J W Marriott and entering into the lobby by water taxi - unbelievable! Ship, tour leaders, excursions - great!

Most Memorable Moment:

By far the Krka National Park in Croatia with its many waterfalls! But another would be Dubrovnik and the walking of the wall! Hvar with its fashionable people! Pula very quaint.

review_img

IrwinGould

Vienna. Beyond our wildest dream

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

The perfect way to spend Christmas and New Year’s Eve. Fri Or the time we arrived at the airport. Until we left to go home, everything about this event was first class. The hotel was excellent and well located down town. All the excursions were interesting, small groups,and 5 star. All the way.

Most Memorable Moment:

New Year’s Eve. At the palace. It was like being in a fantasy. So beautiful, the decorations, the music, the food and the people made it an evening to remember for a lifetime.

review_img

Dorrie Rapp

Venice and Dalmatian Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Venice portion was terrific! Other stops repetitive with primarily walking tours in Medieval cities. Great that all were right at the dock. Tauck chartered entire Ponant ship -- but not told in advance, so a number of things in the Tauck booklet were inaccurate. I prefer the "small group" trips; 200 guests and 6 rotating Tauck guides less good.

Most Memorable Moment:

Breakfast views from roof of Danieli in Venice! Location in Venice allowed for lots of easy self exploring. Guided tour there also very good. Adding gondola ride was very nice.

review_img

MsTxFerg

Dalmatian Delight

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

As always, Tauck’ itinerary & staff were excellent. Boarding, tenders to ports, transportation to and from excursions, tours ... everything was organized, fun & stress free. The Ponant Le Lyrial & its staff were awesome! The food (-1 Star) was disappointing & was not up to Tauck’s par but we would go again with confidence that will improve.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking the wall in Dubrovnik! The city center inside the wall was delightful and we enjoyed our tour there followed by he afternoon and evening on our own to shop, explore and to walk that wall!

review_img

Susan Stoddard

Venice and the Dalmatian Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Venice was beautiful this time. No flooding ! I loved the ship and the sights and the tour guides were awesome. A beautiful part of the world. Our Tauck directors were excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Blue Cave Adventure and sitting at the Captain's table

review_img

The Boge

Venice and the Croatian coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Everything about the trip was first rate. The Tauck personnel, tour guides and shipboard staff were exemplary. Our Venice hotel, Danieli, was the nicest I have experienced. But the star of the show was Dubrovnik. What an amazing small city, with the old walls and the crystal clear waters off of Lokrum island. I will return.

Most Memorable Moment:

Jumping off the rocks into the clear Adriatic on Lokrum island, where I swam off the same spot 58 years ago.

review_img

John Wickham

Venice and Dalmation Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

The itinerary excellent, the execution had several issues. We didn't receive the notification to select the excursions until four days before the deadline. When we did go online, we were informed that the deadline had passed. I threatened to cancel to get our choices. Other travelers told us they had the same experience. No coordination among TDs.

Most Memorable Moment:

The ship and crew were outstanding.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I am sorry you experienced some issues with the excursion choices. This is the first year we have offered these choices, and we had some kinks to work out as we ironed out all of the details. The excursion choices should go much smoother in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JohnStern

Venice & the Dalmatian

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Great Tauck trip, as usual. Local guides, tour directors (3), meals (especially lunches & ice cream available for breakfasts), variety of choices for excursions, roomy fitness room, personal service (the Captain greeting you leaving & returning to the ship), bikes readily available, local beaches - all made for an outstanding trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Surprise gondola ride with opera singer & accompanist on board. When we boarded, I thought our private ride was going to be semi-private, not knowing why the "dispatcher" had included two locals in our boat. Pavarotti was on board! Also tour director insisting on taking my wife & I to her fav swim spot in Dubrovnik during her free time.

review_img

Gisele

Tour Leaders Were Weak

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

On arrival in Venice we learned other passengers had received a pre tour email request to choose their tours but we did not. Others had also received a package of information at the hotel but we did not. None of the 3 leaders was the person in charge. Tauck guide persisted in interfering and upstaging the local guides on the tours. Ponant was great.

Most Memorable Moment:

The tour and guide in Hvar were excellent and the cable car view in Dubrovnik was a knockout.

review_img

Manotick Birds

Disappointing trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Dalmatian coast on Ponant ship Le Lyrial. Food and service: fair to poor. Wine: poor. No choice at dinner: 1 red, 1 white, 1 rose. All French. Whites were undrinkable. Outdoor furniture: poor. Westin hotel dinner: poor. Cabins: small. Shows were poor. Singers were very good. We enjoyed the ports however don't sail on Ponant.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review: I have passed along your comments to our Operations Team who will look into making changes based on your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

David Demuro

Dalmatian with Spots

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

The itinerary was great from the wonders of Venice to a series of spectacular destinations in Croatia and Montenegro along the Adriatic coast. Tauck guides were wonderful. The less than superb part was the Ponant small ship -- the cabins were really small and the food was not very good (and that's on a French ship). That accounts for the spots.

Most Memorable Moment:

The charming town of Korcula, Croatia was a great surprise and wonderful.

review_img

BikeTreker

Venice and the Dalmatian Coast, an experience to be enjoyed

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

My wife and I traveled on Tauck's Small Ship Cruise on May 8, 2018, to Venice and the Dalmatian Coast. The scenery is extraordinary. It was a wonderful cruise. For a day-by-day photo journal of this lovely trip visit www.travelswithcappy.com.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our gondola ride in the canals of Venice.

review_img

DMichel

Venice and the Dalmatian Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Venice hotel (Danieli) was superb...location and dining. Croatia and Montenegro ports were all beautiful destinations. Best of all were the expanded choices for shore excursions...Krka National Park, Dubrovnik Riviera, Kotor mountain drive, off-roading around Hvar. Tour directors were great and all the local guides very informative.

Most Memorable Moment:

Looking out over the ports and cities of Dubrovnik, Kotor and, later, Hvar from mountain-top vantage points will most treasured memories.

review_img

Karlyn Skipworth

Venice & The Dalmation Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

It was enjoyable, informative and very educational on European history.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cruising throughout Croatia and visiting Dubrovnik.

review_img

Reep

Venice and the Dalmation Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Best vacation ever!

Most Memorable Moment:

The Tauck crew were very enjoyable and helpful!

review_img

Joe Hale

I appreciated getting acquainted with the Dalmatian Coast!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

The ship was nice, the food was just so-so, the Dalmatian Coast was beautiful, but I wished I had been more active and that some of the excursions were better planned and interesting.

Most Memorable Moment:

The day with the excursion to the "waterfall" was a disappointment. There was little water in the falls, the falls themselves were less than impressive, the place was packed, and it was a long drive to get there. Vlar and Dubrovnik were beautiful. I appreciated the tours of those places.

review_img

Tennis4di

Venice&The Dalmatian Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Wonderful itinerary!!! Loved our hotel in Venice and also liked our Le Lyrial ship! (Ponant cruise line) Tauck does such a good job of taking care of all their passengers. Our Tauck representatives on the trip were great!! Always there to make sure you were happy. I would travel again with Tauck without hesitation!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to pick one! We have many. We did love being serenaded on the gondola ride.

review_img

SuzyQu

Fascinating Cities, Gorgeous, Comfortable Small Ship!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

This was our first small ship experience and we loved it! The Danieli Hotel in Venice is very close to St. Mark’s Square. Ship cabin was surprisingly comfortable and compact, with every amenity. Shore excursions in Croatia were amazing. We were concerned that in August it would be super hot, but it was not. Cruise directors terrific!

Most Memorable Moment:

Moments; cruising in and out of Venice with its amazing sights; city of Dubrovnik; fantastic sunsets at sea.

review_img

Indiana man

Venice and the Dalmation coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

The trip was very enjoyable. Venice was delightful and the small cruise ship along the Dalmation coast worked well. We were split into three groups, with each group having about 32 people and their own guide. We found the local guides to be excellent, with a lot of information. The sites visited were beautiful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Two memorable moments: 1. Venice, especially away from the main plaza (which was extremely crowded). 2. Dubrovnik was great - especially climbing and going around the entire wall surrounding the city.

review_img

Bruce and Barb

Venice & Dalmatian Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Venice sights and sounds were very interesting; we loved the gondola ride with singers. The ship was great: excellent meals, very comfortable rooms and responsive staff. Visiting the World Heritage Sites in Croatia was an awesome experience and provided a unique view into the deep history and culture of this part of the world.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our visit to the island of Hvar and the farewell lunch outdoors in Kanoba!

review_img

David and Jill

Beautiful ship

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

The Le Lyrial was a gorgeous ship, very comfortable and contemporary. The staff was excellent and tried very hard to meet every need. We liked the smaller ship cruising, the only problem was that often the big ships were in ports at the same time as us.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved Krkra National Park.

review_img

Ricci

memorable Dalmatian coast trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

We had a most memorable trip. The The Tauck staff were excellent in the daily planning and execution of activities. The choice of ports were beautiful and interesting. The only disappointment was the ship's chef did not provide meals at the level we have come to expect on Tauck tours. However, the quality of the of the port tours was superior.

Most Memorable Moment:

The last day we visited and lunched at a farm in Rovinj, Croatia. The food was excellent and parting with new friends made it memorable.

review_img

Lynn Blankfort

Too much, too early

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

There was no choice of tours, and they were too long to describe one medieval city after another with minor artifacts and churches, and departures were way too early. I suggested on my in-cabin review, that they should have choices of "Tauck Intense" or Tauck Light"....

Most Memorable Moment:

Probably the waterfalls at KRKA.

review_img

nickking

venice and the dalmatian coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

8th tauck trip and the first not up to Tauck usual standards. Slow security checkpoint entering ship, food average, service levels below average, and not efficient organization in total. I would recommend staying with Tauck tour where they have 100 percent control of the tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Kotor Montenegro and Hvar Croatia

review_img

david maser

Tauck review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Other than the fact that when we landed in Venice we were taken to the wrong hotel, The trip was very good.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sailing on the ship

review_img

47JC

Venice and the Dalmatian Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Sixth Tauck trip. First disappointment. This didn't "taste" like Tauck. While efficient, the tone was not gracious. And while we saw a lot, I constantly felt rushed. Insufficient free time to explore or rest. WiFi on Le Lyrial was unacceptable in this day and age. I was unable to complete key business transactions as a result. Please warn guests.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sail away from the Bay of Kotor. Ivan Mestrovic Gallery in Split. Dubrovnik.

review_img

Mike Galey

Very fun and beautiful trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

The Croatian islands were exquisite - the small and quaint towns, the beautiful landscaping of the countryside, the friendly and outgong residents eager to please. Montenegro was a favorite of ours. An incredible country, island which is still unobstructed with vehicles and commercialism. More than expected "disabled" people on this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

We especially enjoyed the small ship cruising and the Le Lyrial ship - it was beautiful, modern, impeciable and had an amazing crew which catered to every need. The same with the Venice hotel Danieli - incredible. The island and Venice guides were excellent. Our Director was incredible and could not have been more attentive.

review_img

Paul1209

Paul's

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

We had three excellent guides, who made nice suggestions in response to our inquiries as to local places to eat etc. The tour events were well planned and coordinated with the cruise ship schedule. The other Tauck guests were an interesting and friendly group.

Most Memorable Moment:

Tour of Dubrovnik with excellent local guide. She started with a one hour overview of Yugoslav history, which was comprehensive and very interesting. Her knowledge of the city as well as the country was incredible. She was also friendly and personable.

review_img

Lulu53

Venice/Adriatic coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

This was our second Tauck trip. We had expected a smaller ship, and felt that with the additional non-Tauck traveling people onboard, as well as by dividing the Tauck group into three distinct sightseeing groups, the camaraderie on the River cruise last year was more difficult to experience. Great fun, though.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our Tauck directors arranged a gondola ride in Venice, and because it was the anniversary of one of our couples, also arranged an accordion player and a singer to accompany our group. Singing Santa Lucia on the Grand Canal with the glorious Italian sun shining down on us has to be one of the best moments of the trip.

review_img

Kitty K

Dalmation Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

The Hotel Daniele in Venice was wonderful with a roof terrace for dining overlooking the lagoon. The Ponant ship was new, fresh and very nice, with comfortable beds. The crew was wonderful as was the food and entertainment. Our tour director was a real treat and very knowledgeable. The Adriatic sea was calm and warm during our visit.

Most Memorable Moment:

Swimming off the back of the boat in the Adriatic was a fun highlight. Every day the tour directors had a surprise for us and gifts on our bed each night.

review_img

TXBob

Venice & Dalmation Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Very nice trip. Beautiful scenery and interesting places to visit.The Tauck tour directors were great and the local guides were excellent. Many "extras" on the tour not listed in the brochure (gondola ride) The ship was modern and comfortable, but the service was a little uneven sometimes. There is a lot of walking and steps to climb on this trip

Most Memorable Moment:

I enjoyed walking the wall around the city of Dubrovnik. I think the walk is about 1.5 miles. Lots of steps up and down to make it all the way around.

review_img

Steve Weiner

There was one problem

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

The trip was fine. However,through a reservation made with Tauck we stayed over at the Danieli hotel the night of June 7 and were on a plane to London at 7:20 a.m. on June 8. We were advised to be in the lobby of the hotel at 4:30 a.m. where a Tauck representative would meet us. Continued below.

Most Memorable Moment:

We went to the lobby at that time, as did four other persons on the trip who were also going to the airport. NO TAUCK REPRESENTATIVE EVER SHOWED UP. Fortunately the water taxi did, and after some commotion and uncertainty the driver took us on his own. We made the plane. Obviously, this was a serious failure by Tauck that I wanted you to know about

review_img

PeterOW

An Excellent trip down the Adriatic

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

From the Tauck pick-up at Venice to the deposit back there over a week later, EVERYTHING was taken care of. Our only additional cost during the week on the ship was $30 for laundry. Excellent staff and cruise directors, wonderful food, great accommodations. Well planned land trips, spectacular scenery and photo ops. Almost sensory overload. Wonder

Most Memorable Moment:

Cruising past St Mark's Square, outbound, into a thunderstorm -- and not getting wet. We were meeting and greeting our new travel friends (and enjoying a first glass of wine), full of (fulfilled) anticipation. And so began an excellent week of adventure and multi-sensory pleasure.

review_img

Smiling Sam

Delightful Dalmatia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

Starting and ending in Venice the cruise of the Dalmation coast is a delightful trip. There is a bit too much free time in Venice. The Le Lyrial, being only one year old was wonderful. As was its staff. The entertainment was a bit weak. The port cities were charming.

Most Memorable Moment:

Krka National Park was my favorite with its amazing waterfalls. A close second were the sights from atop the Dubrovnik cable car.

review_img

leanneg

Venice & Dalmatian Coast, Sept. 6, 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Tauck provided a first-rate experience. Especially wonderful was the new ship, Le Lyrial, where the food, service, comfort and surroundings were exceptional. Croatia is a fascinating country, with history going back to occupation by the Greeks and even before. Ancient walled cities dot the beautiful coastline. Local guides were excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Cathedral of St. James in Sibenik, with its 72 life-sized sculpted faces of ordinary citizens from all walks of life and all ages. . . not royalty or the wealthy.

review_img

wafloyd

Great Destination - Average Ship

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

We loved all the destinations visited, and the Tauck and local guides were great as always. However, we found the ship and on board food to be only average. The land tours with Tauck remain our first choice.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved all the destinations, but Split and Debrovnik were our favorites.

review_img

Patagonia

Laura is a fantastic tour leader

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Everythibg Tauck arranged was delightful and well organized. My husband and I enjoyed the excursions, the local guides were great, the ship is beautiful.

Most Memorable Moment:

The bus to 3,000 feet had beautiful views of Kotor, Montenegro and lunch of procuitto, bread and cheese and wine was delicious.

review_img

adventuregal

Amazing from Start to Finish

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Venice and the Dalmatian Coast was an incredible trip that exceeded our expectations! The trip started at the magnificent Danielli Hotel with spectacular views of Venice and continued with our scenic voyage on the impressive Le Lyrial. The Captain, crew, and chef were outstanding as were the Tauck tour directors and local guides! The trip was a 10+

Most Memorable Moment:

Toasting sunsets at the bow of Le Lyrial with friends and swimming at "Carpe Diem" beach were sensational!

review_img

Lise Prefontaine

An unforgettable experience!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

We enjoyed the sites we visited, the quality of the organization, the local guides and the Small Ship Cruise concept. We also enjoyed the French atmosphere on board The Lyrial. The Tauck Director was excellent....

Most Memorable Moment:

The gondola tour with musicians in Venice to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Nice touch...

review_img

danlecl

Daalmatian Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

A great trip, a great ininerary, andthe best ship we have been on. Small in size and a great captian

Most Memorable Moment:

Dubrovnik

review_img

leidos

Tauck Shines Again

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

The Tauck part of this trip was the best of my 3 Tauck tours. They expertly handled the changes necessitated by troubles in Turkey. The Tauck tour director and local guides were the best ever. The Athens hotel was superb - rooms, food, service. The Wind Star staff worked very hard and tried to please but service & food but fell short. Tauck shines

Most Memorable Moment:

Initial sight of the Acropolis and Parthenon from the balcony of the Grande Bretagne Hotel.

review_img

Rick Elwood

How not to end a tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Everything was great until---- We were "dumped" at the Venice airport two hours before we could check our bags. Not helped to find a cart for the luggage nor shown where we could sit and wait two hours. A most disappointing end to two back-to-back trips.

Most Memorable Moment:

Montenegro

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry you had a disappointing end to two back-to-back tours. I have shared your comments with our Guest Relations team who is always striving to ensure our guests have an extraordinary experience.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

arlbea

Disappointing for a person travelling alone but good organisation and lovely sites visited.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Tauck normally has Introductions when the group first get together. This did not happen. They also usually give you a list of the people in your group and this time one received a list of 116 names.No attempt was made to introduce loners to one another.Guides ashore were excellent and the places visited lovely.General organisation was very good.

Most Memorable Moment:

Excellent Guided tour of the Ducal Palace in Venice.

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry that Tauck's normal introductions did not happen at the beginning of the tour. We have brought this to the attention of our Tour Director's Management team. We hope to see you again on one of our journeys.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

rowithy

Venice and the Dalmation Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Our tenth Tauck tour - first small ship cruise experience - on the stunning new Le Lyrial - was fantastic. The itinerary was varied and informative, the service on the ship was impeccable, and the people we met were lovely and welcoming.

Most Memorable Moment:

Meeting and interacting with a variety of people was easy due to the availability of activities after dinner, i.e., entertainment offered on the ship was great fun!

review_img

Why

Venice and the Dalmatian coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

The ship was excellent and the high point of the trip. Dubrovnik and Kotor were enjoyable port stops, but the others, frankly, weren't all that interesting.

Most Memorable Moment:

The scenery as we left Kotor.

review_img

HGreenleaf2

Don't Miss This Dalmatian Coast Cruise!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This was our first Tauck trip and their representatives did not disappoint. From first to finish, Tauck flawlessly handled all of the arrangements and tours beautifully and did so in a way that was both informative and fun. Our guides were delightful and well organized…and successfully herded all of us from Venice to shipboard to the many stops.

Most Memorable Moment:

Harve was my favorite stop for its casual seaside ambience and culture.

review_img

JWatts

Overwhelmed (TRIP) and Underwhelmed (FOOD)

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Itinerary and visits/events were just outstanding! Le Soleal - a beautiful ship - very friendly crew. MAJOR negative was the restaurant food. Breakfasts - lukewarm/cold. Dinners - mediocre - heavy on fish/seafood (after advising Tauck); lack of selection/alternatives. Not very accommodating. DISAPPOINTED - no comparison to our other cruises.

Most Memorable Moment:

Venice was wonderful. The Dalmatian Coast was absolutely spectacular scenery - what a coastline! Hard to pick a favorite - Korcula and Kotor were magnificent

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are sorry that some aspects of this journey fell below expectations but delighted that you experienced some truly memorable moments. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate management and any and all corrective actions will be taken. Once again thank you for your patronage and we do hope you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

olly

Venice and the Dalmatian coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Croatia is a fascinating and beautiful country with picturesque walled cities and crystal clear waters. The history of the country is intriguing. Tim, Carmon and Elise were top notch at coordinating all activities. They were always present to help and very obliging. The surprise gondola ride in Venice, provided by Tauck, was a highlight.

Most Memorable Moment:

The highlight of the trip for us was the stop in Korcula, a walled city, surrounded by blue water. People were very friendly, and our local guide was one of the best we had on the entire trip. We could hear the church bells tolling from the town in our cabin on the ship. Loved all of it!!

review_img

jzvolenskyjr

Venice and the Dalmation Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This was our first time in Venice and Croatia. Hotel Danieli was just great. The water taxi ride to the hotel's registration was a real treat. The bulk of our time was spent on board Le Soleal which is a small ship holding about 250 guests and is one year old. We really enjoyed on time on and off the ship. Food was very good as was the wine!

Most Memorable Moment:

Spending my birthday in Hvar, Croatia with my Tauck friends. The surprise gondola ride in Venice was neat. We loved Dubrovnik and the mountain ride in Kotor. Wonderful scenery.

review_img

sallysavage

One for The books

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

it was first class. From the moment we arrived in Venice with a lost suitcase, to the good-byes on the ship the Tauck reps and tour leaders with always looking out for our best interests. Well done ...

Most Memorable Moment:

I think the time spent on Korcula Island. Great guide, she was the best ..funny great energy etc

review_img

docjpl

Venice and the Dalmatian coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Loved the time to explore Venice, a fascinating and beautiful city. The Croatian coast is very scenic and Montenegro is stunning. Appreciated the many opportunities to learn more about the history and culture of this part of the world.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sailing out of Kotor Bay in the late afternoon. The light and scenery were spectacular. Also loved Korcula and learning more about Marco Polo. Dubrovnik is beautiful but overcrowded with tourists.

review_img

Donsandi

The Dalmation Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2014

This was our first Tauck trip so we did not know what to expect. We were disappointed in the ship; the food was NOT good AND there was no space large enough to accommodate all of the Tauck travelers. The guide(s) were good; however we were not given the names and/or emails of others in our small "family"

Most Memorable Moment:

The bus ride up the mountain in Montenegro.SCARY

review_img

GCoffin

Beautiful Voyage

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2014

Venice, Croatia and Montenegro certainly lived up to my expectations. As always, the local guides were terrific. The only disappointment were the meals on board ship. Food was not up to Tauck standards.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our location in Venice was perfect for shopping, sight seeing, and good restaurants. The gondola ride was great fun. We were accompanied by a singer who serenaded us as we traveled the canals. Loved this.

review_img

Parrish

A fine experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

The itinerary and ship were super. On the negative side having only 108 Tauck passengers on a ship with 250 passengers was not the best Tauck had to offer. French speaking cruise director with a heavy accent and a majority English speaking people was unfortunate, very difficult to understand. Disgruntled wait & bar staff. Melissa was the best

Most Memorable Moment:

The sunset leaving Rovinj

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very pleased you enjoyed your overall journey. We will be sure to provide your commens to the Product Team who is responsible for this journey.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

j s

Venice (alls well that ends well)

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

After we got off to a rocky start (cancelled flights and lost luggage) our trip was great. The weather was perfect for all 10 days. We meet some really nice people and our guide gave us a wonderful tour. It was a great way to celebrate our 50th anniversary.

Most Memorable Moment:

The highlight was having dinner at the Captain's table and the gondola ride with my sweetie.

review_img

Ausnewji

Fabulous Trip to a Fascinating Place

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

While we had been to Venice-always a treat- we knew little about Croatia and the Dalmatian Coast. As we always do before a Tauck Tour, we did a little advance research and the more we learned, the more we looked forward to the journey. We were not disappointed. It would be hard to find a more beautiful and picturesque area. Ship was also great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Standing on the City wall overlooking Dubrovnik and taking in the beauty of the old city and the harbor. It really takes your breath away. A photographer's dream!

review_img

FPortnof

wonderful experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

This was our first experience with Tauck and it was wonderful.Everything was very well organized.The tour directors were professional yet friendly. All of our local guides were experienced and knowledgeable.Although the ship was not a Tauck ship..those of us who were on the Tauck tours seemed to gravity to each other- the others spoke French.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hearing the French Captain sing.

review_img

bjospc

Venice and the Dalmation Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Beautiful scenery! The ship was fabulous. Tour leaders fun, well informed, and very helpful. Food was great! All the crew on the ship were professional, helpful, and pleasant to be around.

Most Memorable Moment:

I am a history buff, so I loved Diocletian's palace and in Pula the Roman amphitheater. Venice was wonderful, but I'd been there twice before. All in all everything was wonderful.

review_img

jwq426

Venice and the Dalmation Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

The time in Venice was good, with good tours. THe trip along the coast had excellent choices of ports and tours. Our tour guides, Scott, Steve and Melissa, were friendly, competent and professional. We enjoyed interacting with them. The ship was nicely appointed; it was hard to adjust to a small ship. We prefer a mid-size vessel.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was actually a series of moments; the overall experience of understanding what happened to the country of Yugoslavia, and learning about some of the pressures on the new countries which came out of the dissolution of Yugoslavia.

review_img

AmyE

A Gorgeous Trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

This was our first Tauck trip, and we had such a good time! Our directors were so professional in every way. The service was outstanding, and we felt very well taken care of. Our accommodations were first class. However, we felt that the food and wine included in the trip were disappointing, especially on the ship.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sailing out of The Bay of Kotor

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for so much for your feedback. I am sorry that the dining experience fell below your expectations. Your comments have been shared with our Product Team for review.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

sanibelchuck

Beautiful, interesting Croatia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

What a wonderful way to see the beautiful, interesting Dalmatian Coast. With a few nights in Venice! Highlights include the magnificent L'Austral small cruise ship, walking Dubrovnik's city wall and exploring Diocletion's Castle. As usual the Tauck tour guides were attentive and knowledgable, and organized everything.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to pick just one. But sailing out of Kotor at sunset was breathtaking.

review_img

DZimmerman

Beautiful Trip to Croatia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Venice and the Dalmatian Coast (small ship cruising) was a lovely 10 days in a new destination in Europe. The weather was sunny and warm, the Adriatic was smooth as glass, and the sights in Italy, Croatia, and Montenegro were beautiful. The shore excursions used the "whispernet" audio systems so you could always hear what the guide was saying.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking the Fortress walls in Dubrovnik will always be a memory from that city. Tauck did a great job of allowing each guest to pick and choose what they wanted to do which really personalized the trip for each of us. No rain during our week of fun on the Dalmatian coast.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are deligheted to you enjoyed your overall journey and we thank you for your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JKievenaar

Disappointment

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

I was and am thoroughly disappointed. I always heard that Tauck Tours was the ultimate in tour experience, you were taken care of to the minutest detail. Being left at Venice Airport to begin this excursion set a very bad tone. If it wasn't for the persistent baggage handler at the airport I may still be there.Did I mention I am handicapped?

Most Memorable Moment:

When I finally arrived at the Hotel Danieli and confronted the Tauck staff about the airport incident I was given a very sarcastic answer. That confirmed my opinion you were not living up to your reputation and really don't understand customer service. Stick to land tours, you are not equipped to handle cruises.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are most apolegetic for this lapse in service. Please rest assured that a Guest Relations Specialist will contact you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MSchulz

Venice and the Dalmation Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

We just got back from a fantastic cruise with Tauck to Venice and the Dalmation Coast. It was gorgeous! As always with Tauck, our guides were wonderfully informative and humorous, as well as full of neat surprises. We would go again in a heartbeat.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey and we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

RKarolak

Dalmatia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

With three very professional Tauck tour guides it was nearly seamless. They managed to accommodate various interests and levels of fitness. The Venice hotel was historic, comfortable and in a perfect location relative to all the important tourist sites. L'Austral was a fine ship with a professional crew,great bar and restaurant staff and good food

Most Memorable Moment:

The view from the mountain top in Monte Negro was spectacular.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased you enjoyed your journey and thank you for sharing your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Carol 2408

Venice and Dalmatian Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

A most interesting part of the world - fascinating politically and aesthetically beautiful. The Croatian coast is lovely; Venice is not to be missed - lived up to all our expectations. This was a 5 star trip but not the best one we have taken. This was our 9th Tauck tour and we would be hard pressed to say which is THE best.

Most Memorable Moment:

Not just one: Korcula, Croatia; Dubrovnik; Venice (surprise gondola ride, thank you Tauck, and the best ever transfer to an airport)

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are so please you enjoyed your over trip with us!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

KMansfield

Venice and the Dalmatian Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

The L'Austral was a beautiful ship, well appointed and the rooms were beautiful with lots of storage. The food was mediocre at best. The Danielle was disappointing. The concierge twice did not follow up with reservations for dinner that we had requested. Rooms were loud, air conditioning did not work adequately. Unacceptable at a 5 star hotel

Most Memorable Moment:

Too numerable to list. The cities of Croatia and Montenegro were amazing. The history was very interesting also. Our guides, Steve, Melissa and [Employee Name] were wonderful. Very thoughtful and caring. The extra "surprises" they planned were lots of fun.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased you enjoyed your overall journey with us. We are sorry that the Hotel Danieli was disappointing and your comments will be shared with management.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JAlameda

Tauck Does A Great Job

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Tack planned a wonderful itinerary on a beautiful ship to memorable places. The tour directors knew the ports and the local guides couldn't have been better. While the food on the ship was good for the most part, the evening meat/fish courses were often inedible. This was a shock.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sailing in to Venice while standing on the deck of the ship. Unforgettable. Having breakfast in the rooftop restaurant of the Danieli Hotel with its expansive view of the canal was a close second.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall experience with us and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Your comments regarding some aspects of your dining will be shared with the appropriate team.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Stillman

Excellent tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

Our trip was wonderful--well-planned, expertly staffed, and a terrific experience. From the arrival at the airport to the return to the airport at the end, the staff's handling of the tour participants was flawless. Hotel was top-notch; ship beautiful; sights memorable; tours well planned and guided; and the tour directors excecellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

The views of Kotor from land and sea.

review_img

petey

Venice hotel

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We travel alone and count on meeting fellow travelers first day or so. The hotel in Venice set breakfast tables for only two people so we could not join others- disappointing and simple to correct. But an outstanding trip.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Glad you loved your trip! We will speak to the hotel in Venice to see if we it can be more accommodating for breakfast in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Ronne

Delightful Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Everything was terrific! Croatia is a hidden gem. Lovely towns, friendly people, interesting history, good food! Venice is Venice. You have to be there to really appreciate how the canals affect everything. Fascinating. The Adriatic was an unexpected, beautiful blue. L'Austral - Very comfortable ship. We'd do this again.

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything!

review_img

travelingsisters

Great destinations at a slow, relaxing pace

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

If you are looking for a slow-paced trip that visits ports on the Dalmation Coast that large cruise ships can't visit, then this is the trip for you! Be prepared to enjoy your cruising adventure with non-Tauk guests as well as 120 or so Tauck travelers. Amazing destinations, art, and history all rolled into one!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our guide in Pula said, "My grandfather was born in Austria. My father was born in Italy. I was born in Yugoslavia, and my children were born in Croatia. All in the same hosptial."

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button