TravelerReviews

Spain and Portugal

review_img

Elise Gebhardt

Portugal & Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

This was our first bus trip We enjoyed seeing all the sights and were able to cover quite a bit of both countries

Most Memorable Moment:

With the help of our wonderful Tour Guide, we were able to better understand both countries culture and food She was very helpful and always letting us sample some delicacy We really enjoyed the respite at the beach and it refreshed us to continue touring

review_img

marilyn rhein

portugal and spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

The bus travel was good in that the driver was excellent and the bus was very clean. But it was too much bus riding--too many hours. Also we felt the sites visited were too similar each day with too much slow walking and standing--and we are in excellent shape. We would have liked more cultural immersion. Our tour director was not as good as others.

Most Memorable Moment:

Ronda was fantastic as was the Alhambra. The guide of the Prado was very excellent. The telephone support person was very rude.

review_img

Penny S

Portugal & Spain June-July 2018

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

So well planned, two nights in several destinations. Every destination was special - Lisbon, Evora, Seville, Jerez, Gibraltar, Marbella (day at leisure was great), Granada (great planning, Tauck, got us in early at 8.15am and by a side entrance!), Cordoba, Toledo (spectacular). Hotels were great (except Westin Palace Madrid).

Most Memorable Moment:

Gibraltar - so historic and strategic. Tauck allowed adequate time and a tour so we could really appreciate the importance of Gibraltar.

review_img

glenwild

Portugal-Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Itinerary, hotel and tour director were excellent. BUT, 30% of our trip consisted of extended families with children. I paid for an adult tour. We had fewer individuals with whom to dine and socialize. We should have been told. Lunches were always in isolated banquet rooms with few menu options and no local foods. Bus was full & no extra seats.

review_img

robert levering

Portugal and Spain Up Close and Personal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Tauck always offers the best. We had an excellent director and a very skilled driver. We stayed at the finest hotels and dined in the best restaurants. The tour guides that we had were both knowledgeable and interesting. With Tauck you often get early entry and we saw fantastic places devoid of crowds.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to the Alhambra Palace was so awe inspiring, We had the best guide and he made the place come alive. We stayed at a hotel in walking distance to the Palace.

review_img

Ann Marie Alford

Perfect Trip to Portugal and Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

We did the 8 day Portugal trip, then connected with this one. A few visits in Portugal were the same, but very glad we did "back to back". Having a small group was nice. Our Tauck Director was very knowledgeable and organized. Spain was clean and beautiful. Lots of wine and good food! A break in Mirabella was perfect.

Most Memorable Moment:

Rock of Gibraltar and seeing Morocco clearly. Loved Ronda and Toledo.

review_img

KMessina

Portugal/Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

This was our 6th trip with Tauck, but this one was very disappointing. We had great expectations of Portugal, but Tauck did a poor job of touring this country with only a few days. Spain was much better, but again we felt that Tauck didn't provide excellent activities, and the food was mediocre. Other Tauck Italy & France tours were much better

Most Memorable Moment:

We enjoyed Gibraltar, and the cities of Seville, Marbella, and Madrid.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Operations team who is always looking to make enhancements to our journeys based on feedback from our guests.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Phil Cagney

Spectacular Spain and Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

This was our fourth Tauck trip and we didn't think that anything could come close to Classic Italy -- but this was right up there! We had a great tour director, great weather, great travel companions, and of course the sites in Spain and Portugal are not to be missed. Highly recommend this tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Wow, there are so many that it's hard to pick. The classic cities of Seville, Granada, and Toledo were amazing, but that was somewhat expected. The nice surprises were Marbella and Gilbraltar - both exceeded our expectations.

review_img

Maggie V

Memorable first trip to Portugal and Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Overall, a great experience - great tour director and group, excellent hotels and beautiful countries. Fast-paced tour with multiple hotel changes. Dinners are late in Spain which makes it difficult to get a good night's sleep for the many early starts on this trip. Most included meals were good but not great. Beware - Spaniards smoke a lot!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seville - everything about it! An absolutely stunning city!!

review_img

marciaklein

Tauck outdid itself!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

The itinerary was complete and inclusive for the region. The places visited within the cities were meaningful, important, and were well covered by explanations from either the local guide or our Tour Director. Great hotels, fantastic food. The local guides did a nice job. Our Tour Director was the greatest -- went the extra mile throughout.

Most Memorable Moment:

Difficult to say, which means it was a great trip.

review_img

BenjaminFranco

Portugal / Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Fascinating trip rich in history and scenery.

Most Memorable Moment:

Alhambra, Mezquita, and the Royal Palace ... were all memorable. Did not care too much for Gibraltar.

review_img

Lkymom

The Best of Spain and Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Such a well orchestrated trip. We were met promptly at the airport and taken directly to our hotel (The Four Seasons). Everything was seamless. Our director was energetic and like a mother hen. A great person. All of the guides were knowledgeable and informative. The itinerary had a great balance between sites,travel and free time.

Most Memorable Moment:

The entire trip was memorable.

review_img

Mario Rafael

First Tauck Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

Our Portugal and Spain tour was fabulous. This was our first Tauck experience and it topped any land or sea vacation we have enjoyed. The tour was well developed with amazing and beautiful country side and historic sites. Sampling the delicious food and culture of Portugal and Spain was definitely a highlight of our trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Historic Sites

review_img

PWinokur

Holy Toledo!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

The trip was wonderful. Our tour guide was superb! Holy Toledo! Granada! Marbella! Sevilla! Madrid! Just a lot of exclamation points to say this Tauck tour was special. I learned so much about Portugal and Spain. The local tour guides are a wealth of knowledge and are so enthusiastic.

Most Memorable Moment:

Ronda! The gorge! Hemmingway!

review_img

SoDak John

Portugal and Spain - Culture and Elegance

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

We are frequent Tauck travelers and this tour continues our appreciation of how Tauck does travel. Our tour director was great; she shares her knowledge of the countries' culture, history, and current events in an easy and fun manner. The hotels were spectacular and we all suffer "Bodies by Tauck" after many marvelous meals. Great trip

Most Memorable Moment:

The included flamenco show at Granada was mesmerizing.

review_img

MWTravel

Great Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

This is an outstanding tour from the start in Lisbon to the finish in Madrid. Every day was interesting and different. Our tour director was great. This was our 7th Tauck tour and we would rate this as among the best. We learned a lot about the culture and history of Portugal and Spain. Seville, Grenada, Toledo, Cordoba, Ole!

Most Memorable Moment:

Carriage ride in Seville and visiting the Alhambra in Grenada were among many highlights.

review_img

booter

B+

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

Tour director great as usual and a good group of people to be with. We went on Tauck's Northern Paradors of Spain trip two years ago and we enjoyed Northern Spain more than Southern Spain which surprised us. Northern Spain we give an A and Southern Spain a B+.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cities of Seville and Granada were fun.

review_img

Portlandharriet

Spain and Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

The rain could not dampen our spirits on this fun-filled tour. Our tour guide was the best ever, and after five Tauck tours, I have had 5 wonderfully knowledgeable guides. She brought us souvenirs to bring home and others to eat on the spot.

Most Memorable Moment:

Touring the Cave on the Rock of Gibraltar. I had no idea how small, yet beautiful it is. I never expected to meet its many monkey inhabitants. My travelling companions became family, as usual on a Tauck tour. For a single traveller, Tauck always makes me feel safe.

review_img

AndrewWeiss

Portugal Spain / failed to meet expectations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

This was our fourth Tauck trip and we have noticed a discernible decline in the overall quality of your tours. We watched Arthur Tauck Sr’s video on the bus and we think you should watch it again as well and ask yourself if you really are keeping the values he established. We do not think so at all.

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry that this journey did not live up to your expectations. I know that you have been in touch with our Guest Relations Department, and I believe that they have addressed your concerns.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Kellsey16

Portugal/Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Our first trip with Tauck. Exceeded out expectations. Great hotels, comfortable bus, good sightseeing venues and overall terrific trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Many

review_img

randymorin

Portugal & Spain Oct. 2017

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

A most wonderful and memorable trip to Portugal and Spain. We have traveled with Tauck several times and this will be among our top favorites. Every city was a little jewel on our itinerary of culture, history, food, music, geography, inspiration and new experiences. We had an incredible itinerary with an exceptional tour director.

Most Memorable Moment:

Lisbon was a less hurried, affordable, and friendly capital city that offered delicious food, beautiful sights and culture. We loved being able to see Africa from Gibraltar. The Mesquita in Córdoba was one of the most amazing architectural structures I have ever seen. How can you leave Spain without forever longing for their tapas and paella!

review_img

PK1950

GREAT TRIP

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Just returned from a two week Tauck tour of Iberia. We began in Lisbon and worked our way through souther Spain, ending in Madrid. Everything about the trip was seamless. From the pickup at the airport, to the transfer of luggage at each hotel, to the final transfer at the end of our trip, everything operated without a hitch.

Most Memorable Moment:

Spending time with some amazing people. Our fellow travelers were great, and our tour director and our driver were outstanding. We could not get over how luxurious the hotels were.

review_img

lindahamilton

Portugal and Southern Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

We had an absolutely outstanding tour director. She took excellent care of us. The tour was a nice mix of city and rural. The break in the middle was very nice. Our delaying the provided dinner from the first night in Madrid to the second night was an excellent idea. Much better arrangement. We got into Lisbon too late to enjoy a group dinner.

Most Memorable Moment:

We particularly enjoyed Rhoda and Toledo.

review_img

plcsenior

Spain and Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Lots of walking with lots of food. A wonderful group of people. Knew very little of this part of Europe and learned a lot. More beautiful than expected. Pace was perfect. Busy with down time well balanced.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved Madrid. Beauty, people and spectacular architecture.

review_img

Testarossa

Portugal Spain Tauck Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Our Tauck trip to Portugal and Spain was excellent. Our tour director was very knowledgeable and passionate about the history and culture of these countries. The itinerary was well-planned and the hotels were generally quite good. We particularly appreciated the effort that our Tauck Director made to make our group experience an inclusive one.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were too many positive memorable moments to pick one. Portugal and Spain are fascinating countries: the culture and history are fascinating and the food great.

review_img

BByers

Spain/Portugal with Thousands of Other Tourists...

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

The hotels were fantastic, top quality. The meals were delightful, scrumptious and well presented. Our Tour Director was the best. She was extremely knowledgeable of the area and very professional in her ways. With that said, the Tauck traveler must be prepared for thousands of other tourists who are visiting the same area. VERY BUSY!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Out Tour Director has to be at the top of the list. No problem was too big for her to resolve, and no question was too small. The Convento Espinheiro in Evora was such a pleasant change of pace. Its' location in the country side, the warm atmosphere of the architecture, and the fabulous dining experience made for a stay to be remembered.

review_img

Ann Richardson

Portugal and Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Best vacation ever!!! The Portugal and Spain Tour has replaced the Tauck Italy Tour as our number one. All of the tours of the cathedrals, museums and the Palace fantastic. The carriage museum and history, the Enganche Museum and the Sandeman Sherry House, Gibraltar and beautiful Marbella and so much more.

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything - Tauck had the best hotels, food and tours and the Alfonso XIII where Princess Diana stayed was a bonus. The only thing to add to the experience was a tour of the status of Jesus while in Portugal. Riding the New Orleans USA street car was especially a fun experience and touring the Palace.

review_img

Perry Driggs

Spain Portugal 2017

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

This was our 1st Tauck trip. It was a terrific experience starting from the itinerary to the well located, unique hotels, the fabulous meals, informative local guides and our Tauck director's well organized management style. We enjoyed the people we met and made some new friends during the trip. We are looking forward to our next Tauck adventure.

Most Memorable Moment:

Many were: Toledo, Spain and its sites. The closing meal with a surprise Spanish group of musicians to cap off the trip.

review_img

Monac

Spain/Portugal. Fabublous and beyond expectations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

My trip was perfect. Tauck was everything and more. I was traveling solo with small group and had the time of my life. Everyone was friendly, inclusive and the director so informative and fun. All the excursions, hotels, restaurants etc were absolutely fantastic. I am already starting to plan another Tauck adventure. Maybe Japan or Africa.

Most Memorable Moment:

I loved the rich history of the area. The Alhambra, the Alcazar and the Palace in Madrid were some of my favorites and the history that went with each of our excursions. Everyday there were new discoveries and the people that conducted the tours of each site were excellent. It really made the difference in understanding everything I was seeing.

review_img

SanAntonioVO

Up to Tauck standards (and that's lofty)

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Our second Tauck trip; we've already booked the next one. Well organized and with many pleasant little extras. The pace was reasonable and the group was enjoyable. Our tour director was knowledgeable and especially competent. The hotels and food were luxurious. We never felt rushed, but covered a lot of history.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seville is even more beautiful than advertised. Columbus' tomb was a highlight.

review_img

bmcclenathan

Portugal/Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Loved the trip. Weather was great. Our guide was the best. We got a good taste of both countries and our interests were satisfied as we covered the time periods from the pre-Roman period through modern times. The coastal areas of both Portugal and Spain were uniquely different from our USA experiences along the east coast. Great job!

Most Memorable Moment:

Mine was the Roman ruins at Evora due to fascination with that time period. Ours was just seeing the various cities of the trip: Sevilla, Marabella, Lisboa, Granada, Madrid and Gibraltar. Gibraltar was the most fascinating due to its history.

review_img

Ajl70

A lot of Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Without trying to compare this to our Ireland trip this was a very good trip. We not only visited a great number of sites, we also got to hear about the history and politics of the land. The transportation and guides were very good. We were looking forward to the flamenco but it was somewhat disappointing.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Cathedrals, the med at Marbella, the AVE. Things seem to flow well. The hotels were top of the line, but this is not what will bring us back to Tauck-it is the country and people of the country we are visiting.

review_img

Dick Braun

This was fabulous!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Tauck REALLY gets it right! This was a great tour made possible by our truly wonderful Tour Director - she is the best! plus a great group of fellow travelers. The hotels, the restaurants and food, the super local guides, the bus, the driver, the many insights were all top notch. And so much fascinating history!

Most Memorable Moment:

So many memorable moments! Walking in the Old Quarter in Lisbon, the Roman Theater in Merida, the huge cathedral in Seville, the beautiful and huge cathedral in Toledo, the Alhambra Palace, the Royal Palace in Madrid, the School of Equestrian Art in Jerez -eating dinner at Botin (Madrid), the world's oldest restaurant; relaxing in Marbella.

review_img

LarryKoz

Great experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

As usual, Tauck outdid itself -- hotels, staff and accommodations were outstanding. Gibraltor was extremely interesting. Costa del Sol deserved another day -- great hotel, great pool and beach; great restaurants and shopping. Tauck guides were fantastic. We're already booking our next Tauck tour for the following summer.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved Madrid; it was like a small big city, followed by Costa del Sol.

review_img

BFeit

Portugal & Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

Our trip to Portugal & Spain was fabulous. The itinerary for the various cities were excellent as well as the accommodations. All of the tour guides were very knowledgeable providing great information on the respective cities. Our Tauck tour director was beyond fabulous attending to each and everyone's needs.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was probably the Al Hambra, and Madrid.

review_img

Coffeecup1390

Amazing Sites; Amazing Tour Guide

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Our fabulous guide walked us through the political, cultural, social, economic, and religious panorama of Portugal, Gibraltar, and Spain. He wove literature, art, food, and music horizontally and vertically into a tapestry reaching from North America to Iberia...often using 3 languages while riding backwards on a bus. BIG THANKS!

Most Memorable Moment:

Each location offered incredible beauty with distinct surprises: Lisbon; Sintra; Cascais; Evora; Roman Merida; stunning Seville; equestrians at Jerez de la Frontera; dramatic Gibraltar; relaxing Marbella; Granada, the magestic Alhambra; Cordoba, the magnificent candy-striped La Mezquita; proud Toledo; Madrid's art triangle; each an indelible moment

review_img

Sajiv

Portugal/Spain 2017

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

We waited 15 years to take the plunge, my wife's former boss would come back every summer after a 2 week trip and rave about it. The kids were finally older and we decided to do it. No regrets whatsoever-beautifully organized, excellent hotels, the tour director, driver and guides were excellent. We have a lot of reading up to do. Until next time..

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking into a Gipsy Kings concert in Lisbon, my favorite Andalusian band, totally unexpected. One of the highlights of the tour. The next trip will be with our(older)kids, hopefully. Thank you Tauck.

review_img

Linda Levinson

Fantastic Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

I have been on several trips with other tour companies and I thought they were fine until I took this Tauck trip to Spain. Everything about this trip was wonderful!! Hotels were beyond my expectations, itinerary was so engaging and the food was interesting and tasty!

Most Memorable Moment:

The four days in Madrid. The history the hotel and the food were all great!

review_img

steveja

spain and portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

outstanding tour. tauck director was fantastic. only drawback was the unusually hot weather. fun and interesting from day one. terrific accommodations in each city

Most Memorable Moment:

visit to cathedral of seville and alhambra palace

review_img

JLocher

Portugal and Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Our Portugal and Spain experience with Tauck was wonderful. We now expect nothing less. The tour director was friendly, informative, and helpful. The pace was fast but very tolerable. Tauck has always been "anxiety free" travel for us. How great is it to just "show up" and know that all the hard work has been done! That's why we travel Tauck!

review_img

SteveR

Portugal Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Fantastic trip filled with stunning Moorish architecture, beautiful hotels and bright blue sunny skies. Our tour director was delightful and made everything work well.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many - definitely walking into the Alcazar in Seville was a "wow" but then there were "wows" at the Alhambra and in Cordoba

review_img

Ian Hammond

Excellent tour superbly organised

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

We just finished our first Tauck tour. It was superb. The tour director was amazing and her attention to detail made everything run like clockwork. Our coach was very comfortable and our driver was superb. All the stops on the itinerary were worthwhile and the hotels were terrific. Very relaxing trip, fun people. and we will be back

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many memorable moments, but seeing Picasso's Guernica at the Sophia Reina Modern Art Gallery in Madrid was an outstanding experience, recommended to us by our Tour Director. We may not have bothered, as we had visited the Prado and the Thyssen, but both of us are so glad we went. Brilliant and a must do when in Madrid.

review_img

Aub

Southern Portugal & Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Fantastic

review_img

zaf and sandy

Tauck delivers!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

This 14 day trip to Portugal & Spain is our first with Tauck,it won't be our last. Our tour director and local guides gave us a solid understanding of the culture and history. The pace and extra amenities make travel a pleasure. Our director even provided post trip recommendations that were spot on. You exceeded our expectations.

Most Memorable Moment:

The beauty of Alhambra and revealing the wonders of the Jewish, Islamic and Christian contributions in the region.

review_img

ArizonaBH

Amazing, gorgeous Portugal and Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

This itinerary was diverse and well planned. The pace was fast and fairly demanding, but it allowed us all to see more, learn more and immerse ourselves in the rich art, history, architecture and beauty of these two countries. The lodging and food were first class, all the way. Thank you for a beautiful trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most surprising moment was the Rock of Gibralter, but the most memorable moments were the Alcazar and the ranch visit outside Toledo.

review_img

Lynn DeRosa

Portugal and Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

It was wonderful! Tauck thinks of everything, down to the smallest detail, and everything is seamless. Tauck tour directors and local guides are the best in the industry! We loved Portugal/Spain and all that we saw. With the special treats, Tauck is number one!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our tour of The Alhambra in Granada! Spectacular! The insights provided by our guide made it special!

review_img

Robin Hanna

Travels with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

My husband and I just returned from Portugal and Spain on our first trip with Tauck. We loved the journey. The itinerary was well-planned and executed. The hotels and restaurants were excellent. There was a good mix of planned activities and free time. Our tour director and driver were fantastic. We definitely plan to travel with Tauck again!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you enjoyed your first journey with Tauck! We look forward to having you travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Dresbach

Wonderfully balanced itinerary

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

Our trip to Portugal and Spain was wonderful. Our tour director was one of the best we've had in our six Tauck tours. She provided history to better understand and appreciate places. The thing we appreciated the most was the design of the itinerary. There was a great balance of walking tours, time on the bus, and free time to explore on our own.

Most Memorable Moment:

There wasn't a "most" memorable moment. There were many moments that were memorable: Sintra's castles, the Roman ruins in Merida, the equestrian school in Jerez, the countryside surrounding Ronda, the flamenco show, the Alhambra, the Royal Palace in Madrid, and the tour of the Prado. There was no place nor tour that we felt was a waste of time.

review_img

travelbuddy2

Portugal and Spain 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

This was our 1st trip with Tauck and all the good we had heard was accurate. Of course, the scenery and historical sites are beyond description. We moved from one to another without one problem. Everything- excursions, tour director, local guides, hotels, food ALL EXCEEDED OUR EXPECTATIONS. Our tour director made the trip for us; she was superb.

Most Memorable Moment:

The entire experience was so wonderful! Some of the art and ancient structures took my breath away. Getting to know the other travelers in our small group was so much fun. Then, the farewell dinner and entertainment was such a memorable occasion. Again, our tour director MADE the trip perfect.

review_img

Skip Lieser

Spain Portugal Trip was a historic masterpice

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

This was our 2nd Tauck trip. The 1st was No. Italy last year. That trip was fantastic, but felt more like a holiday vacation. Spain was the ultimate in history and hands on experience. Our guide was very experienced, knowledgeable and lives in Southern Spain. You will walk away feeling like you lived 800 yrs. of history.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our visit to the Alhambra in Granada and to Toledo outside of Madrid were unforgettable highlights.

review_img

Muleman68

Exceeded very high expectations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Our visit to Portugal and Spain was superb. Excellent work by the guide and driver. Each local guide was very informative and spoke fine English.A good combination of group tours and free time to explore on your own. Most of the hotels were top rate. Our fellow travelers are great people: we hope to meet them on another trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

On this trip there were so many: Ronda; the Rock of Gibraltar; Seville; Lisbon; the mosque/cathedral of Cordoba. Of all of the wonders of this trip, our time at the Alhambra will be a treasured memory forever.

review_img

bgtohio

Tauck never disappoints

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

The trip met our Tauckian expectations: well planned (with one exception: Sintra/Cascais)), luxurious accommodations, superb tour director, delicious (if too much) food. Comfortable bus, expert driver. A demanding schedule, and the Marbella break in the middle was welcome.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many highlights to single out one: Evora, Alhambra, Prado, Toledo . . . BTW, I rated the trip "Well done" only because we have had so many "Best Ever" trips with Tauck. We will be back.

review_img

William Lord

Portugal and southern Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

This was our first trip with Tauck and we were not disappointed. Our Director was very good. He is steady and is always looking ahead to make sure all facets of the tour are handled without any problems. His easy going demeanor made you feel comfortable and the extra items were very nice. Our driver was excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

I thought Marbella was beautiful as was the hotel. A suggestion would be to delete the wine and horse tour and go straight to this location to make the most of time there or add another day here. The 4 seasons hotel was outstanding but I would eliminate the hotel in Cordoba amend accordingly. The train ride was nice. I liked the down time also.

review_img

aricasc

Portugal and Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

I did the 14 day Portugal and Spain tour with a group of my friends. We are four single 40 somethings and all wanted to go to Spain so signed up together. Since we were 1 guy and 3 girls we did get many questions and confusion from others on our tour. We were the youngest by 20 years. Loved Spain very much, Portugal was OK.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to count. Highlights include Seville, Marbella - loved the day of rest there, Gibraltar - wish we had a full day there, Granada, and Madrid. I loved the walking tours and seeing the palaces and historical information.

review_img

no need for one

Portugal and Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

First time with Tauck. Exceptionally well done. Hotels, tour director and local guides excellent. Had a minor injury to foot and without my asking, tour director arranged for a taxi for me to avoid a difficult walk...very much appreciated.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Rock of Gilbralter

review_img

Andreas

Doing Portugal and Spain the Tauck Way

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

Wonderful experience from beginning to end. We were sad when it was over because Tauck pampered and delighted us in every possible way. From the luxurious accommodations which were all in THE perfect location to the smooth and excellent driver and the most knowledgable and well organized tour director and tour guides this was a "dream" vacation.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's a tie between the tour of the Alcazar in Seville, the tour of the Alhambra in Granada, and the tour of old Toledo. All three were equally magnificent and the tour guides were very informative, entertaining, and gracious (answered many questions). We have to add an honorable mention and that was the wonderful farewell dinner and entertainment

review_img

ArnoldWasserman

We were extremely pleased with the trip

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

The weather was perfect for the entire trip. The people were very nice and friendly. We enjoyed the tour guide was excellent and very knowledgeable with the contents of the trip. The bus was new. We had a WONDERFUL time/trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

The whole trip was memorable. There was nothing that that I could as being most memorable. The whole trip was memorable.

review_img

Harvey Danits

Great trip(even with a week of rain)

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

It doesn't only rain on the plain in Spain. It rained everywhere for 7 days. Despite this the group hung in there and had a great time, in no small part because of the efforts of our tour guide. She worked so hard to make it a great vacation under these adverse circumstances that we all bonded..The best tour director on any of my tours with you

Most Memorable Moment:

The Alcazar (but other moments were right up there)

review_img

Samk

Toasts to Tauck!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

During our recent two weeks on the Portugal and Spain trip, every meal together with our fellow Tauck travelers began with a toast to "another great day with Tauck"! Every single day brought wonderful sights and new learning. This was our fourth Tauck trip and you may be sure we are already planning our next one.

Most Memorable Moment:

Everyone asks us where or what we liked best. It's impossible to say, for the trip, thanks to our excellent tour director, was an all over learning experience of Portugese and Spanish culture, history, architecture, food, geography, religion and many other topics. We also had a lot of fun from welcome to farewell.

review_img

REBlauer

Spain & Portugal. Oct Nov 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

First trip w Tauck. Great group and excellent Tour Director. She was fabulous. Smart funny flexible caring and spontaneous. Couldn't have been a better first Tauck experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

Birthday celebration in Granada w tour group and co-planned by our fabulous tour guide. The trip itinerary was perfect and we can't wait to return for the northern Spain trip.

review_img

nancygay

Portugal/Spain 14/15 days

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

This was a simply wonderful trip, quite strenuous for those of us who are not in excellent shape, but worth every step. Our guide was exceptionally competent, helpful, funny and innovative. The venues chosen were interesting, from Roman ruins to sherry wineries, to castles and museums and cathedrals. The group was terrific, intelligent and fun.

Most Memorable Moment:

Family-style dinner in Cordoba. But then, every meal Tauck provided was an event, since the wine flowed and conversation never lagged.

review_img

kfnknfzk

Spain and Portugal / Oct 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

We loved our last four Tauck tours but this trip was absolutely fabulous. The sites, the history, the hotels, the food, the touring companions and, most of all, the tour director made this trip so very special for us.

Most Memorable Moment:

Viewing the Moorish architecture…the carriage ride in Seville…leisure time in Marbella…private flamenco show in Granada…experiencing adventures every day! And special thanks to the Tauck Director for all the extra special things she did. She was certainly the best tour director we ever had!

review_img

Long

Great Portugal/Spain Land Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

This was our 5th Tauck Tour and it did not disappoint. The Tour Director had lots of little surprises for each of us and had a wonderful relationship with the local guides (which were all good). This is a good overall look at Southern Portugal and Spain. You will not be sorry taking this tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Gibralter caves, the Alcazar and the Horse Carriage ride in Seville.

review_img

MAT658

Mostly Terrific

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Fun, but highs and lows. Generally, the hotels were great except for the hotel in Cordoba. That hotel was near the historical sites, but was no more than a Days Inn and worth no more than 70 Euro/nt. I think for the money we paid, very disappointing. I also got sick on the food at the pool bar at the hotel in Marbella and couldn't eat for days.

Most Memorable Moment:

We saw a great deal of wonderful things, but I was blown away by the beauty of Toledo.

review_img

mazalea

Great Itinerary

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Tiles in Portugal, Gothic cathedrals in Andalucia, Roman and Moorish heritage in Granada and Cordoba …non-stop cultural change and beautiful landscapes made this a trip to remember. We can't believe we saw and did so much on one trip. We'd have never covered all of this on our own! Fresh foods beautifully presented, magnificent hotels = GREAT!

Most Memorable Moment:

Strolling the streets of Seville near our beautiful Hotel Alfonso. Tapas plates, fresh anchovies everywhere!

review_img

Hector

Portugal and Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

An unforgettable trip very enjoyable and informative. . Hotels and meals were first class. Our tour director, like all Tauck directors, was very good. He did an excellent job. The tour buses were very comfortable, some had bathrooms others did not. But that was not an issue because the stops were frequent enough.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Alhambra in Granada and the Mezquite in Cordova.

review_img

pearlchua

portugal and spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Very enjoyable. Had a great time and experience. We had a great tour director. Food was good, hotels wonderful, Learnt a great deal about history of the 2 countries.

review_img

Travaux

Memorable Southern Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Great hotels; great food; excellent tour director and driver; visited most of the cities we wished to see. In a prior year we had traveled on the Northern Spain tour with Tauck and it was equally as good.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the Cathedral of Cordoba - an architectural delight!

review_img

danreinhar

Portugal and Spain.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Loved Lisbon and environs because we stayed on our own. Tauck has a beautiful hotel but not in action area. Food was best in Portugal. South of Spain was beautiful and we lucked out on the weather. It could have been a lot hotter. The food could have been better for lunches and some dinners. Cities good some extra tours could help.

Most Memorable Moment:

Marbella was magnificent! Hotel great, lovely beach town.

review_img

PMcNulty

Outstanding trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

I loved seeing Spain again after 40 years and I had never been to Lisbon....what a lovely city...so reminiscent of San Francisco with its hills and cable cars! There were 40 of us on a bus and luckily everyone was able bodied...and could get on and off the bus in good speed...We had plenty of water bottles on the bus.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Alhambra again after 40 years...such a beautiful spot...and I felt the guides allowed us enough time in each important room...There were tons of people there the day we visited, but it didn't bother me. Luckily we were first in line and didn't have to wait in the heat.

review_img

Maverick

Portugal and Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Our trip was wonderful. Very fast paced. Had a great tour director. Saw many wonderful cities. Lisbon was magical. So was Seville. Cordoba, Rondo, Toledo all had many historical places to see. However, Madrid was the best for us. Starting with the fabulous Westin Palace to the Prado museum, just a great trip full of history.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Prado museum with the Goya paintings and the El Greco paintings were terrific.

review_img

VSchnitzer

Spain and Portugal July 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

This trip was everything we expected and true to Tauck always more.. Our tour director was professional, knowledgeable and kind..She always watched out for our fellow travelers and made sure we all felt comfortable meeting each other. Marbella and Gibraltar definite highlights.Besides the 108 degree temp the pace of tour kept us going...

Most Memorable Moment:

Marbella, glorious sea views from our hotel right on the beach.

review_img

LCole

Spain and portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Great trip. Enjoyed everything especially Alhambra the Spanish costa del sol and Toledo. Great group and great tour guide. Pace of the trip was just right and beach break in the middle was good

Most Memorable Moment:

All were good. Too numerous to mention

review_img

Lees folly

Portugal and Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Loved Mirebella and the Costa de Sol! I would like to have stayed there for a week. It was a welcome break in the middle of the trip. Seville and Grenada were awesome as expected. The Thyssen art museum should be a must if you like impressionist art. Great trip, great tour guide and great food, assuming you like fish. Beef is marginal in Spain.

Most Memorable Moment:

The day off in Mirabella.

review_img

NancyBL

Fabulous trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

From beginning to end we loved this trip. So beautiful and our guide was so informative. We had great people on our trip and made some friends that we still keep in touch with.

Most Memorable Moment:

I don't think I can pick just one. Everything was memorable to us.

review_img

CJM

Heat Wave

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

We loved seeing the historical sites, the art, flamenco dancers, dancing horses, and the monkeys on Gibraltar. Had no idea that Seville, Spain was one of the 3 hottest places on earth and it was in a heat wave for us! We must say, however, that the food was disappointing. We found it bland and repetitive.

Most Memorable Moment:

For my husband it was the flamenco dancers. For me it was the Roman ruins.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your comments. I have passed along your comments regarding the food to our Operations team. They are always striving to improve and enhance our tours. We thank you for travelling with Tauck and hope you will choose us again in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JanisDitto

Better than expected!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

I knew nothing about Spain and Portugal before the trip--now I know lots! We had the best tour director ever and saw beautiful scenery throughout the tour. I wish I had read more about the history of the area before the trip. We will definitely be back to experience the northern parts of Spain and Portugal. Highly recommend the trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Gibraltar, where we could see the Atlantic Ocean, the Mediterranean Sea, and Africa while standing on the southern tip of Spain. Amazing!!

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am so glad you loved this amazing part of the world! Thank you for choosing Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Happy Jack

Perfect Portugal, Splendid Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

This tour is an in-depth survey of southern Portugal and Spain. An appropriate time is spent in each major city. There is a good mixture of leisure time and structured touring. The pace is steady and comfortable. Hotels and food are great. We had a perfect time.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the African coast from Gibraltar.

review_img

suepackel

Wonderful trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

We had a wonderful, small group trip to Portugal and Spain. 24 travelers led by the best tour leader we've ever met with any tour (Tauck or not.) Lovely weather and easy-going people made the trip so nice. Everyone was on time, no prima-donnas. The sites and scenes and cities that we visited were all new to us and very exciting.

Most Memorable Moment:

We were so surprised by Lisbon. Much more beautiful and interesting than we had expected. Len especially loved Ronda. A gem/

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding our Tour Director! We are very proud of the job that they all do.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Painter

Fun with Joe in Andalucia

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

Great trip, beautiful country and people, friendly, clean and lots of history! If you're lucky enough to get our tour director, you're in for a treat. Knowledgeable, good storyteller, will sing you some doo-wop and funny as all get out. He's worth the price of the trip by himself. It was our 18th Tauck trip and among our favorites

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything on this trip was memorable plus we met some great people in our group! Would almost take this trip again because I know we couldn't possibly have seen everything there was to see! On top of that we had two weeks of beautiful weather! TAKE THIS TRIP, YOU'LL LOVE IT!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your extraordinary experience! We are so glad you enjoyed our Spain and Portugal journey.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

lemasters2

Portugal and Spain 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

A wonderful trip that started in Lisbon and ended in Madrid. Accommodations were outstanding, food delicious and varied. The coach we traveled on was comfortable and our tour director incredibly knowledgeable. The cities and towns we visited were diverse and beautiful. The people of both countries were warm and welcoming.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many. Seeing the beautiful old tiles on buildings in Lisbon and Sevilla, The Alhambra, the town of Toledo. The wonderful wines of the region. The beautiful olive tree groves in Spain and the oil they produced. Every day brought something new and special.

review_img

ACurtiss

Portugal and Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Our Portugal and Spain trip was our sixth trip with Tauck and it was awesome in many ways! It is hard to believe that centuries ago the Castles, Cathedrals, Basilicas, and Palaces were built so magnificently and have withstood so many years. Most hotels were great except the one in Cordoba which was not up to Tauck standards.

Most Memorable Moment:

The many UNESCO World Heritage sites such as the Alhambra in Granada and the Sagrada Familia Basilica in Barcelona. The city of Toledo was also great!! Was a historical trip!!!! We are going on the Canadian Tauck trip in 2015 as we are very happy with all our Tauck tours. Just keep the guests to 30. This trip had 37 and seemed too big!!!!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your time on tour and can't wait to have you back on tour again soon!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Lamanster

A Walking Tour of Portugal and Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

This trip is truly one involving plenty of walking daily at a slow pace. The cobblestone roads and sidewalks in Portugal were a challenge even to the mobile folks. Bus journeys from town to town were broken up in 90 minute trips to allow for appreciated rest stops. Lots to see and the tour director was excellent. Southern Spain is beautiful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Alhambra palace in Granada.

review_img

Mamma

Nothing short of SPECTACULAR

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

We took the Portugal and Spain tour in Oct. 2014. The entire experience exceeded our expectations. We saw so much. In depth descriptions of every sight. Great hotels. Delicious food. Our tour director Patricia Hunting could not have been better. If asked to name a favorite part.. we cannot. Each place stood out. Very busy in a good way!

Most Memorable Moment:

Cannot pick out a most memorable moment. Every place we went had its own story and was very interesting and beautiful. We loved it all.

review_img

voikk32

Already planning my next trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Absolutely fantastic experience. The people, the places, the hotel, the food, the history, memories for a lifetime. Exceeded my expectations. Trip to Spain and Portugal started in Lisboa at the Four Seasons and just kept getting better and better. Every day was an adventure and filled with memorable moments.

Most Memorable Moment:

There was so many memorable moments but for me the highlight of the trip was to the Rock of Gibraltar. On a clear day, you can see Africa and we saw Africa. It was fantastic. I loved going through St Michael's Cave and seeing the monkeys. My only regret is that the time there was so short at the top of the rock and then at the Cave.

review_img

Steve Colwell

Portugal and Spain - A great trip in all respects.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

We have taken 4 previous Tauck trips, but this was the best by far. We were on the go from morning till night every day. This may be a bit too busy for some, but it is how we were able to see so much. The accommodations, meals and local guides were first-class. Best of all was our tour director Joe. A real pro. Thanks Joe.

Most Memorable Moment:

Making new friends of our fellow travelers. Great people made the trip so enjoyable.

review_img

kellybelly

Portugal/ Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

We had a great trip. Isabel was the director and she was wonderful. The perfect weather also made the trip extra special. Most of the people on the trip were very nice, of course there are always a couple of whiners, but overall a fun, respectful, intelligent and well traveled group. Overall, I was very happy with the itinerary.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hmmmm. For me, just looking out at all the olive trees, castles, farms..... The natural and old world beauty. Drinking delicious wine with wonderful well traveled people. I am so sorry this and my written review has taken so long. I should have done it sooner, when everything was fresh in my mind. Thank you, Kelly

review_img

JJ262

Great Itinerary

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This was a great trip as the itinerary allowed for a lot free time, was well paced and allowed us to see most of the key attractions at each stop. The tour had a good mix of culture, history and scenery. Isabel, our tour director, was well organized and did a great job doing the heavy lifting to allow the guests to enjoy their time

Most Memorable Moment:

There were a lot of memorable moments on this journey from taking a carriage ride through the Plaza de Espana in Seville to touring the bullring in Cordoba and seeing the beautifully tiled palaces on multiple stops. There are a number of great stops on this trip and the food in Spain & Portugal will also have you shouting "OLE!"

review_img

Hoya68

Never let us down.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

I have traveled or lived overseas for most of my career. During that time I have taken charge of all the sightseeing and vacation travel, proudly disdainful of travel companies. Tauck has brought that to an abrupt end. Our first Tauck trip met, and usually exceeded, all expectations. I look forward to the next Tauck, the only way to go.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Spanish quartet who serenaded the group during our farewell dinner at the Palace Hotel in Madrid -- an unexpected and wonderful treat that capped a truly outstanding two weeks.

review_img

Traveling Magoo

Portugal & Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This trip was a great learning experience. Great information given by tour guide Patricia Hunting on sites, areas, entertainment and foods to experience. She is such a knowledgeable, informative and caring person.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Gibraltar and being informed you can see Africa. Very exciting.

review_img

SUngar

Amazing Journey!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This was our 7th Tauck trip and it exceeded our expectations. Patricia was amazing. Besides her knowlwdge of the area she just made the whole trip fun and exciting. It also helps to have a group that was so wonderful. Everyone was there to have a good time, got along so well, and early to all events and departures. Tauck at its best.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved Seville and Toledo, Marbella as well. The food and the hotels were wonderful. The wine flowed on this trip,lunch and dinner, every meal. Our fellow travelers! Patricia was outstanding!

review_img

Ellen L

Spain and Portugal with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This was my fourth trip to Spain and second with Tauck. Overall a marvelous experience. Our tour director added several personal touches (which Tauck guides often do) which made it even more special. Hotels were all top of the line. Meals were excellent although I could have done with fewer lunches since I'm not used to eating so much rich food.

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching the sunrise over the Mediterranean from my balcony in the fabulous Gran Melia Don Pepe Hotel in Marbella. It was magical!

review_img

kenbt

Portugal and Spain we never knew about!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Joe made the Portugal and Spain trip not only memorable and fun but he has such knowledge of the area and the history of everything it was like re-learning history with ease from a really cool history teacher! When he retires he will be truly be missed. And Antonio the bus driver was the best. He was always so polite and a wonderful driver!

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved Marbella, it was a place we were unaware of. The location of the hotel was outstanding, the food was fabulous as well. Just beautiful. We also loved the Convent that was by far the best dinner and charming experience. Wonderful!

review_img

MSullivan

Rich Experience in Portugal and Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

The tour of Portugal and Spain surpassed my expectations. The cities are cosmopolitan centers with rich pasts that feature multi-cultures, extraordinary architecture, and beautiful art. We loved every day and found adventure in our visits. Hotels were perfect locations for respite and the timing was flexible. Don't miss it!

Most Memorable Moment:

Roman ruins in Merida made the journey totally worthwhile.

review_img

fly121

Tauck provided an excellent itinerary travelling through Portugal & Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

We were very pleased with our tour director, Pablo. He was very efficient and friendly and at various cities he would give us small gifts as a remembrance. The hotels were excellent and in most cities the views from the window were picturesque. Our bus driver, Lionel was very pleasant and a safe driver. There was plenty of leisure time as well.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Plaza de Espana in Seville was stunning that we had to return during our free time to explore it more. Exploring Lisbon and walking up and down the narrow streets. Gibraltar was an exciting excursion including looking out to Africa, driving up the rock & seeing the monkeys. The landscape in Ronda was like a postcard. Walking Madrid.

review_img

Marsh NJ

Wonderful Week in Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

This was our 5th trip with Tauck. We loved everything - even the weather. A big problem -our room in Seville - too noisy, located on first floor near the lobby and next to driveway- buses and trucks all night. Our tour director offered us her room but it was too small. A disappointment - no special Tauck "surprises" as on other trips.

Most Memorable Moment:

My most memorable moments ( can't pick just one!) were everything Gaudi and sitting in a synagogue built during Roman times, both in Barcelona. Right up there were also all of Granada and Cordoba.

review_img

Naturally Unique

Portugal / Spain May 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2014

We traveled with Patricia Hunting - small group bus tour. Patricia was informative and personable. The pace of the tour was great. Free time was awesome. Our first bus tour. But not long bus rides. Great mix of activities. Stayed at 7 hotels. Wasn't bad though, thanks to packing with E-Bags. We enjoyed the Spanish culture. Food was bland though ?

Most Memorable Moment:

Getting lost in the Alfama (Lisbon). Staying at the Convento do Espinheiro convent. Riding carriages in Seville & watching the rollerbladers and cyclist fly down the street. Flamenco in Granada. Amazing ! I really enjoyed the gardens and architecture of Spain. Moorish influence was unique. Royal Palace in Madrid was full of Wow moments - Rococo

review_img

mabbott76

Spain and Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

We have just returned from Tauck's Spain and Portugal tour. This trip was EXCELLENT!!! Joe, the tour guide has been doing this tour for 16 years. His suggestions truly enhanced the experience - from offering a Fado and Portuguese traditional dinner, to a Flamenco night, all were GREAT! The tour covers many areas of the 2 countries. Wonderful!

Most Memorable Moment:

The people on this trip were great. I truly enjoyed everyone. Great fun everyday!

review_img

vidalia2

Ole

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Traveled through Portugal into Spain in October with Patricia Hunting (loved her) as our Tauck Tour Director. Couldn't have been a more fantastic adventure. As usual, Tauck lived up to its reputation and presented a fabulous two week tour. Loved the history, thoroughness of the guides, the exhausting tours of cities and towns, and all the food.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the Palace in Madrid was the most memorable moment. The building was beautiful, the guide presented a wonderful tour with lots of history and insights. In fact, much of Madrid was very memorable. The buildings and streets were so clean with a wide array of museums, shopping, restaurants, and parks.

review_img

JLakin

Iberian highlights

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

We began our trip in Lisbon, Portugal, which is a lovely city. We stayed in the Four Seasons Ritz Hotel, in a spacious room with a balcony. We continued to Evora, Portugal and an inn which had been a monastery. Very charming. Went to Saville, Marbella, Granada, Cordoba & finished in Madrid.

Most Memorable Moment:

I had many, but I must say that the Alhambra in Granada was truly spectacular. We had another supurb guide who made it all come alive! The gardens were fabulous. However, probably the best part of the trip was our Tour Director, Patricia Hunting. She really knows the territory and paid attention to every detail to make the trip the best!

review_img

PCaruso

ONE OF THE MOST WONDERFUL TRIPS

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

SPAIN IS JUST BREATH TAKING - WOULD LOVE TO VISIT IT AGAIN.

Most Memorable Moment:

WE WHERE ON A SMALL GROUP TOUR - AND IT WAS FANTASTIC HOW WE ALL CLICKED FROM DAY ONE.

review_img

astone

Portugal/Spain trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Just returned from my wonderful trip to Portugal and Spain. This was my 3rd Tauck Tour, and they just keep getting better each time. We went to so many wonderful places - Lisbon - Rock of Gibraltar- magnificent; Seville, Granada, Marbella, Madrid, Toledo. All of them just fascinating, full of history and beauty. I loved it all!

Most Memorable Moment:

the Flamenco dancers that entertained us, extraordinary!!!

review_img

onthego

trip to spain and portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

the trip was very good. But, we were disappointed in our room assignments 3 times - each time others had either bigger rooms, larger beds (we'd requested a king and were given a double once), or external views when we got internal ones. We don't expect the best rooms each time but don't want consistently poor rooms either.

Most Memorable Moment:

Overlooking Toledo!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are most apolegetic that you were disappointed in your room assignments. Rest assured your comments will be shared with the appropriate manager. We thank you for your patronage and do hope that you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Mom

Spain and Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

After traveling independently for many years, we decided to try a tour. After many hours of researching tour companies, we chose Tauck. This tour had the right mixture of free time vs. group activities. The rotation of seats on the bus, the bottles of water, the Vox, the little "surprise" gifts, the speedy check ins, the director were super.

Most Memorable Moment:

You're asking for one? The entire trip was memorable! Obviously the Alhambra and Generalife but also the carriage ride around Sevilla. The mosque in Cordoba. None of these would have meant much to us without the expertise of both the director and local Guides explaining the history. This trip was like living a dream thanks to Tauck.

review_img

ALeavitt

Portugal and Spain Sept. 18-October 1, 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

The trip was almost entirely independent the first week except for transportation. It wasted our time and money, and we missed many major sites. We were shadowed by Insight tours, and watched them being guided to the same sites which we had to find out about on our own. We were parked for 1.5- 2 hr lunches instead of being taken to major sites.

Most Memorable Moment:

On our own going to Fado show in Lisbon, woorld famous Royal Horse Show in Cordoba, world famouus Flamenco show in Madrid, none of which Tauck knew about or told us about let alone took us to attend, and Gulbenkian Museum in Lisbon. We had only 2 hours max of touring numerous days, and missed many major must see sites.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are most apolegetic that this trip fell below your expectations. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will contact you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

jrothburd

Spain and Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Hotels, tour director first rate. Some days only 1-2 hours touring, remainder of time on own - unacceptable for an all inclusive tour at this price range. Too much time spent dining rather than touring. Shorter lunches with more sightseeing time would have been preferable. There are a whole host of specifics not enough space to explain here.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visit to Alhambra

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are sorry this journey fell below your expectations. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will contact you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

mikeg

Exciting Spain & Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Great food, wonderful hotels and two interesting and exciting countries make this an outstanding trip. Spain,in particular, is just magnificent. The antiquites, cathedrals and palaces of Seville, Cordoba and Granada coupled with a restful unscheduled day on the beach in Marbella are perfect. And finally, Madrid, which is a beautiful and exciting.

Most Memorable Moment:

Madrid without question.

review_img

LVastine Marks

Great time

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Nice cities

Most Memorable Moment:

Madrid And Marbella

review_img

PCapobianco

Very informative

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Very informative and learned a great deal about the region, culture and people. Beautiful part of the world.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seville - GRANADA - Marbella - Madrid

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your feedbacd and we are very pleased you enjoyed your journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

jgarrity

Spain and Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Great trip - very informative director and great daily guides - already planning next Tauck Trip.

review_img

HHodess

Spain and Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Very interesting but quite arduous requiring a high energy level. Well organized with a good director who was quite knowledgeable and good humor end who worked well with the diverse personalities . Could have spent more time in Seville and Toledo, and felt Gibraltar was the least interesting part of the tour and could have been left out .

Most Memorable Moment:

The Alhambra tour

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback. We will be sure to share your comments and suggestions with management.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

IraD

Tauck doesn't disappoint.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

We just took the 2 weeks in Portugal and Spain tour. The weather was wonderful. Iknow you are not responsible for that. The places we went were so interesting. We could have used more time in Toledo. All but one of the local guides were very knowledgeable and personable. They made us feel like they were talking with friends.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to Marbello - right on the beach. And the hotel in Lisbon. Not all the hotels met the Tauck standard, but that one definitely did!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased your enjoyed your overall journey and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Glenda E

Spain & Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

A wonderful first Tauck trip. Lots of history with just the right amount of group tours and free time. Can't wait to book our next trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to pick a "best", but Ronda was spectacular.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey and look forward hosting you again in the near future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Susan Fleming Bennett

Adventures In Spain and Portugal

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

This trip is one of my favorites. Highlights for me included the Alhambra palace, with outstanding Moorish architecture, the El Prado in Madrid, and Toledo, Evora and Sintra. Our director Joe was fabulous - he helped us enjoy the local flavor - Fado singing in Lisbon, the bullfight in Madrid, and local food and wine. Truly a memorable trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

My favorite day was the visit to the Alhambra palace - one of the finest examples of Moorish design and architecture - followed by a walking tour of Granada led by our guide Joe, lunch (along with an award winning Gin and Tonic), and dinner at a local restaurant overlooking the City of Granada. It doesn't get any better than that- great memories!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Vickery

Portugal/Spain May 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

This was the most relaxing tour I have been on because of the built in free time to do what interested us and because wine was included in most of the meals. I enjoyed the equestrian school, the high speed train trip to Madrid, the Rock of Gibraltar, and all of the beautiful towns and country side and history.

review_img

Linda Alexander

PORTUGAL AND SPAIN delights...

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

We'd never been to Portugal and loved our experience there learning about the earliest explorers and seeing the beautiful central countryside. Spain was exceptional; a look at many different places, some of which we'd visited before but were happy to see again in a different light. Great food and wine, and a very friendly Tauck group!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Toledo (again) - the views on the road into the city are spectacular, and you feel as if you are back in time centuries ago.

review_img

FGobel

Spain and Porugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

This was our second Tauck adventure ( the first being the Musical trip on the Danube - Budapest to Prague).The Portugal to Spain trip was excellent! The itinerary, accommodations, and our knowledgeable leader offered a most pleasureable experience. The trip met all of our expectatons and we so informed our travel agent.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey with us.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

NLW

Spain/Portugal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

This was our 1st experience with Tauck; it was fantastic. The itinerary was great; we visited all the places we wanted. Our tour guide, Joe, was exceptional. His knowledge of the 2 countries enhanced the experience. We would never have been able to have such a great time in Portugal/Spain had we tried to organize the same trip on our own. Fabulous!

Most Memorable Moment:

Touring the Alhambra.

review_img

Iberian Idyll

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We loved our visit to Portugal and Spain. Patricia was an excellent tour director. We had a great group of traveling companions. The trip included several important cities in Spain with the highlights of each as well as time to explore a little on our own. I was glad to visit Gibraltar once as I always wanted to see it, but once was enough!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seville was my favorite, Toledo's was my husband's. Every city we visited was unique and worthy of our time. Enjoyed the day of rest at Marbella.

review_img

MonaD

"I'll Be Back!"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We had a great time on our Spain/Portugal trip. We went in Sept, 2012 and the weather was perfect. Our guide was incredible, fun and extremely knowledgeable. I'm a retired travel agent with 30+years of experience and booked many clients on Tauck because they always come back. And so will we, Budapest here we come! Thanks Tauck, MonaD

Most Memorable Moment:

Every moment was flawless. Everything went perfectly. Everyone was enjoyable to be with.

review_img

schwarbd

Spectacular Trip to Spain and Portugal!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

My husband and I recently returned from the 2-week Tauck tour of Portugal and Spain. It was a really wonderful trip - well-planned, with just the right mix of touring, relaxing, and free time. Our tour guide was truly an expert on the country and culture, and local guides were informative and fun.

Most Memorable Moment:

The carriage ride in Sevilla - a fun way to see the City!

review_img

vinobianco

Spain and Portugal Fall 2012

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

Exceeded high expectations! Tour Guide - informed, engaging, a great teacher of culture and history! Hotel, restaurant choices uniformly excellent. Pace good for area covered. Two changes would improve the experience: skip Gibralter entirely (hassle to enter, mostly ugly place) and visit more important cathedral (instead of synagogue) in Toledo.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to choose from.

review_img

Peregrinator

Back-to-Back tours

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

We combined this tour with "Paradors of Northern Spain" tour, and it was a perfect match. We were worried that four weeks would be too long, but at the end of our trip, we wished we had even more time in these fascinating countries! Tauck did a great job in creating this tour, and our Tour Director gave us an unforgettable journey.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many great moments... Exploring back streets and finding tapas off the beaten track; the beauty of Seville; Puente Nuevo in Ronda; the photogenic Alhambra; El Transparente in Toledo. Wow!

review_img

fab

Good times in Portugal and Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

We had a great tour director and coach driver. We were fortunate to have a small group of 12. Most of the hotels were beautiful and the service was excellent. All the areas we toured had a important place in the Iberian Peninsular's history . There were always opportunities to shop, just not enough hours in the day.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seville was full of beautiful buildings and cathedrals, the people were open, helpful and fun. Our spring visit coincided with the flowering in all the parks. The flamingo dancers topped off our visit to this wonderful city.

review_img

JohnKi

Portugal and Spain

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

Hotels are mostly excellent except for the one in Serville which is dangerous to older travelers. The meals are mediocre. We had rave reviews of Tauck but we found limited choices to the meals. The choices between either veal or fish became quite boring. Portions are usually too big and quality fair. Our guide is good but not superb. Everywhere we went, he said it was the best restaurant and then we were disappointed. The trip to Gibraltar was too short. The local driver lied. Very weird!

Most Memorable Moment:

Learning of the history and culture of Spain. The towns/cities we visited were all unique and beautiful.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are extremely disappointed that this journey fell below your expectations. The Tauck Manager for this tour has already received your comments. Please be assured that your comments are taken very seriously and will be used when making any necessary improvements to this trip.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

jewelx3

Wonderful!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2011

This trip runs neck in neck with our other BEST trip with Tauck (Blue Danube, 2007) At first we thought it might be too long, but the days just flew by. The tour director, Suzanne, was outstanding, and the pace of the trip was just right. The stay in Marbella gave you that aha time to regroup. We also liked that we had time to eat on our own. Enjoy

Most Memorable Moment:

Much too many to choose one..........all the laughs at the local dinner in Cordoba, the Mezquita in Cordoba, bullfights & churros & hot cocoa in Seville, awesome view from our hotel room in Granada, the magnificent Alhambra, Ronda, and all the wonderful people...........still visit with some!

review_img

schnooky1948@aol.com

Spain & Portugal

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2011

As usual, Tauck's tour director was great. My group is always wonderful too. We got to see Cascais, Portugal, & Marbella, beautiful beach areas. We saw Roman ruins, road in a horse drawn carriage, saw beautiful cities, and the amazing Rock of Gibraltar. The flamenco dancers were fun, & I enjoyed the train to Madrid. The trip was well worth taking.

Most Memorable Moment:

I never met anybody that has been to the Rock of Gibraltar, so that was my favorite, & most memorable part of this trip.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button